realsim
Topic Author
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:19 pm

Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:02 pm

Beginning April 1, Skywest will start operating out of ORD as an American Eagle carrier (pro-rate contract), with at least 4 aircraft (CRJ200)s.

This new contract follows the already announced end of the Chautauqua contract this year, that will mean the loss of 15 ERDs that are currently flying from ORD under the American Connection brand. Apparently, Envoy cannot staff all this flying without cancelling other flights, as they plan to retire 10 additional ERDs this year. Current Chautauqua's flights will be operated by Skywest (at least 4 aircraft) and Envoy (more ER4s are going to become available with the cancellation of Envoy-operated flights like CLT-MIA/ORD, and there may be some frequency reductions because of the use of larger aircraft (50 vs. 44 seats). Besides, as the contract with Skywest will be pro-rate, it has been said that some new AA routes from ORD could be annouced, but I find it unlikely with only 4 frames.

Flights are already loaded and can be seen, for example, from ORD to CHO/ICT/MKE/YUL.

Apparently, Eagle's fleet will grow by at least 3 frames this year. This may sound surprising given how Delta and United are shrinking their regional fleet, but AA cannot do it at the same rate because their regional fleet is much smaller than DL's or UA's. 25 ERDs are planned to be retired this year and 24 E75s will be delivered. It is yet to be seen if the loss of Chautauqua's feed will change this plan, maybe slowing ERD retirements (as long as Envoy can staff them), or adding more CRJs to the new contract with Skywest, which is clearly a possibility. Besides, USAir regional fleet will grow by 17 frames (+19 CR9s, -2 DH8s) and rumor is that some could be based at an AA hub.
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2534
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:07 pm

Skywest as in OO or as in EV? either way, I hope the reliability is better than the DFW CR2 operation.
 
N353SK
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 5:08 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:09 pm

Quoting kcrwflyer (Reply 1):

Skywest as in OO or as in EV? either way, I hope the reliability is better than the DFW CR2 operation.

Skywest Airlines. They're already flying CRJs for American out in LAX.
 
FWAERJ
Posts: 2587
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:23 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:10 pm

Quoting realsim (Thread starter):
25 ERDs are planned to be retired this year and 24 E75s will be delivered.

Are the 24 E75s all YX frames or are the first MQ birds part of that number?

That said, regardless of operator, place the E75 on long DFW ER4 routes like FWA-DFW and I'll be a happy guy.
"Did he really need the triple bypass? Or was it the miles?"
 
realsim
Topic Author
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:19 pm

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:20 pm

Quoting FWAERJ (Reply 3):
Are the 24 E75s all YX frames or are the first MQ birds part of that number?

They're all Republic frames. The unassigned E75s don't arrive until Q1 2015.
 
boberito6589
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:09 pm

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:22 pm

Quoting FWAERJ (Reply 3):
Are the 24 E75s all YX frames or are the first MQ birds part of that number?

The 24 E75s are the YX frames. It has not been decided where the 60 frame order will go. PSA will also be recieving 15 of the 30 CRJ-900 ordered by AA
 
FlyHossD
Posts: 1257
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:45 pm

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:13 am

WIll SkyWest be able to staff these flights?

I ask because a recent OO flight of mine was delayed quite a bit for lack of cockpit crew.
My statements do not represent my former employer or my current employer and are my opinions only.
 
deltaffindfw
Posts: 1384
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 7:42 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:29 pm

Are these 4 frames being moved from LAX flying or are these additional jets?
 
commavia
Posts: 9744
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:30 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:46 pm

Quoting deltaffindfw (Reply 7):
Are these 4 frames being moved from LAX flying or are these additional jets?

Word elsewhere is they're planes coming from Delta's network as Delta draws down 50-seat capacity.
 
User avatar
knope2001
Posts: 2269
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:54 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:36 am

Quoting realsim (Thread starter):
Flights are already loaded and can be seen, for example, from ORD to CHO/ICT/MKE/YUL.

Wouldn't surprise me if the SkyWest mx base in Milwaukee is what leads to MKE being among the first AA* destinations at O'Hare. It think this puts Milwaukee north of two dozen SkyWest-proper flights, not including anything flown by SkyWest subsidiaries.

On the downside it means a heavier diet of SkyWest CRJ's instead of larger RJ's, just like having the Air Wisconsin mx base in MKE means MKE-PHL never gets upgraded -- last summer peak had as many as 6x/day but never a CR7 or CR9. At least the bulk of OO flights at MKE are to O'Hare, and that short a hop is much more reasonable in a CR2.
 
FWAERJ
Posts: 2587
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:23 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:22 am

Quoting knope2001 (Reply 9):
Wouldn't surprise me if the SkyWest mx base in Milwaukee is what leads to MKE being among the first AA* destinations at O'Hare. It think this puts Milwaukee north of two dozen SkyWest-proper flights, not including anything flown by SkyWest subsidiaries.

Hmm... with a growing SkyWest group MX base at SBN, could we be seeing a return of AA to SBN with ORD (OO) and DFW (EV) flights?
"Did he really need the triple bypass? Or was it the miles?"
 
N908AW
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 1:05 pm

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:33 am

Quoting FlyHossD (Reply 6):
WIll SkyWest be able to staff these flights?

I ask because a recent OO flight of mine was delayed quite a bit for lack of cockpit crew.

You had a crew, evidently, since the flight operated. Your crew was likely coming from another flight that was delayed...
'Cause you're on ATA again, and on ATA, you're on vacation!
 
FutureFO
Posts: 2811
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2001 10:58 pm

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:53 pm

The word about town is that since Envoy voted the contract down that they would be shrunk and that they would divest them out. The E175 unassigned operator would now become YX machines.
I Don't know where I am anymore
 
FRNT787
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:04 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:05 pm

Quoting FutureFO (Reply 12):

I would imagine those getting split among other E175 operators who also fly for AA. Mesa, Skywest, and Republic all fit the bill. Maybe like 20 apiece or something. RAH, based on their current contract, will be operating 105 E Jets for the combined company. The decision could be that the 60 go to other operators and Republic exercises some of their own options to balance out the mix of owned vs pure CPA arrangements AA keeps.
"We have a right to fail, because failure makes us grow" --Glenn Beck
 
CWAFlyer
Posts: 536
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 3:33 am

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:16 am

Quoting FlyHossD (Reply 6):
WIll SkyWest be able to staff these flights?

I ask because a recent OO flight of mine was delayed quite a bit for lack of cockpit crew.

Could have been a last minute sick call with no ready reserves. 2 hour call out if that was the case.
 
FlyHossD
Posts: 1257
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:45 pm

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:44 am

Quoting N908AW (Reply 11):
You had a crew, evidently, since the flight operated. Your crew was likely coming from another flight that was delayed...

Perhaps I should have elaborated. I spoke with both pilots after arrival - they were both reassigned at the end of their original trip. So yes, there was a crew, but no crew was apparently assigned to begin with.

I ride OO at least once a month and they seem to have been suffering crew shortages for the last few years. For example, one day last May, two of my home airport OO flights were cancelled (including mine) due to lack of cockpit crew. So if they're going to add more flying, are they pushing their luck?

Don't misunderstand me. I like OO and look forward to the flights and chatting with the crews. I want to see SkyWest succeed, but I wonder if they're reaching too far.
My statements do not represent my former employer or my current employer and are my opinions only.
 
Goldenshield
Posts: 5005
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2001 3:45 pm

RE: Skywest To Fly For American Eagle Out Of ORD

Thu Mar 06, 2014 1:13 pm

Quoting FlyHossD (Reply 15):

Perhaps I should have elaborated. I spoke with both pilots after arrival - they were both reassigned at the end of their original trip. So yes, there was a crew, but no crew was apparently assigned to begin with.

No crew to begin with? Not likely. There's a ton of possible reasons for them to be pulled off, but lack of a previously assigned crew is not one of them.

Quoting FlyHossD (Reply 15):
I ride OO at least once a month and they seem to have been suffering crew shortages for the last few years. For example, one day last May, two of my home airport OO flights were cancelled (including mine) due to lack of cockpit crew.

Shortage, no. Staffing has always been on the "thin" side, but that's running the assumption that there are those who are willing to pick up overtime, and there are. Conversely, there will always be sick calls and now part 117 timeout issues that might not be able to be covered last minute without causing problems the rest of the day.
Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.