molitvic20
Topic Author

What If UA And CO Split?

Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:44 pm

As a pilot, I was talking to one of my FA's about the merger with United and Continental. Rumor has it, Continental wants out.
I mean this could be true, they still have two separate contracts. Could this really happen if they wanted to, especially after investing so much time and money combining the two airlines?

FlyHossD

RE: What If UA And CO Split?

Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:47 pm

Quoting molitvic20 (Thread starter):
Rumor has it, Continental wants out.

No way, no how. Rumors from crew members are notoriously unreliable.

It is true, though, that the sUA and sCO Inflight groups have different priorities and are far from a joint contract. How long will this last? I don't know, but I'd guess it will last until the company makes it a priority.

A couple more thoughts - how would a division be done anyway? Continental was the surviving corporation - renamed United - with Continental's Airline Operating Certificate and United's Maintenance Certificate and that's just for starters. It would be a mess to "unwind."

[Edited 2014-03-08 11:50:23]
My statements do not represent my former employer or my current employer and are my opinions only.

MIflyer12

Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:54 pm

Rumor has it, Continental wants out.

There is no Continental with separate ownership or management. 'Continental wants out' is a delusional fantasy of disgruntled workers or work groups.

MaverickM11

Sat Mar 08, 2014 8:01 pm

What if Oklahoma splits from the US? That is probably more likely...
E pur si muove -Galileo

nutsaboutplanes

Sat Mar 08, 2014 8:11 pm

The bottom line is that you CAN run an airline with divided labor groups.....in some ways it benefits the bottom line and it others it doesnt because you lose efficiency in routing and scheduling. That said, everyone would agree (I hope) that a unified company is the best alternative.