airmale

Thai Airways Food Query

Sun Nov 19, 2000 2:30 am

does any one here know if Thai airways serve Thai food on their international flights, in tousrist class, is it as good as restaurant food 
.....up there with the best!

RE: Thai Airways Food Query

Sun Nov 19, 2000 3:34 am

I've only flown Thai once BKK-DEL, so I'm not an expert on Thai's food service. But the food on that flight was not Thai. It was a sort of nondescript chicken in some kind of brown sauce. It came with a potato salad that wasn't very good. People seem to like Thai's food service though, so perhaps they have better meals on longer Transpac flights. And considering that more than 3/4 of the people on the flight had special vegetarian meals (considering the destination) it could be that not too much effort was put into the non-veg selection.

airnewzealand

Sun Nov 19, 2000 5:39 am

My sisters flew AKL-SYD. They had a selection of Pork or Chicken. The Chicken was done in thai style but the pork was english. My sister didnot eat any of these meats. So the flight attendants gave her a business class meal. She said it was really nice just like Thai food usually is and how it tasted in the restaurants.
Why do you ask? Are you going them? If so where to?
hope this helps.
Mikey  

Amir

Sun Nov 19, 2000 8:34 am

The food i have experienced on Thai was not really Thai food but for a regular meal in Coach it was way above average! the selection was fine, good ingredients, very good done and enough in quantity. I was imrpressed that the main course was in China!

The flights im refering to:

FRA-BKK in 744 in 1994
BKK-HKT in 1996
BKK-Chiang Mai 1996
HKG-BKK 1995
BKK-ZRH March 2000

Rgds
Amir

airmale

Sun Nov 19, 2000 7:51 pm

Airnewzealand Helo,