trnswrld
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat May 22, 1999 2:19 am

Question Re: American A300's

Sun Dec 17, 2000 5:09 am

I have always wondered about Americans A300's. I was wondering why do I never see any of them at Chicago O'Hare where I live? (this obviously is a huge hub for AAL). and also how many do they have? and how much longer are they planning on keeping them? I go to college at ERAU in Daytona and see plenty of AAL A300's at MCO but they all only go to Miami.
Thanks for the help,
J.T.
 
ContinentalEWR
Posts: 3619
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 2:50 am

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Sun Dec 17, 2000 7:34 am

American Airlines has 35 Airbus A300-600's, all of them are on long-term leases. American has been operating
the A300-600 since 1988. The airplane was acquired
when American was building up its then large hub at
San Juan's Luis Munoz Marin International Airport. A
300's flew in from cities like JFK, EWR, BOS, MIA, to
connect to flights to other Caribbean destinations.
Since 1997, AA has downsized the hub, replacing a
lot of jet flights to the islands with ATR's.

The A300's also fly on two or six daily flights from
JFK to Heathrow and from Boston to Heathrow as
well as to Paris CDG. A300's fly from the JFK to
Miami and from Miami to select Latin American
destinations, like Bogota, Cali, and so forth.

The A300's are expected to be phased out but
probably not for another few years. They are
quickly becoming odd-balls in what is going to
be a pure Boeing fleet but have served AA well
as an alternative to 767's during the 1990's.
Eight of the 35 A300's are configured for an
extended overwater operation and have PTV
in Economy class.

ContinentalEWR
 
ContinentalEWR
Posts: 3619
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 2:50 am

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Sun Dec 17, 2000 7:35 am

To answer your question about why you don't see A300
aircraft (AA) at ORD, the reason has to do with the fact
that these planes were bought to operate East Coast to
Latin America, Caribbean, and select European flights.

AA did at one time have A300's flying from ORD to SJU
when the SJU hub was bigger and from ORD to DFW.

Spare parts, maintenance, and so forth are all done
at Miami International Airport.

ContinentalEWR
 
chepos
Posts: 5940
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2000 9:40 am

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Sun Dec 17, 2000 7:48 am

AA has downsized its hub at San Huan and the A-300 is now only used to destinations like Santo Domingo , JFK , Miami , Orlando , Newark ,Boston . The 757 took over service to Hartford, Baltimore , Philadelphia , Dallas , Chicago , Ft. Laurdale , and the Caribbean and Caracas flights . And the only A-300 you might see at Orlando are a 1 or 2 flights to Miami and 1 flight to San Juan
Fly the Flag!!!!
 
AAR90
Posts: 3140
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2000 11:51 am

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Sun Dec 17, 2000 9:04 am

>...all of them are on long-term leases.

And all the leases contain no cost 30 day notice to end the lease clauses. Including the A300 simulator at AA's Flight Academy.

*NO CARRIER* -- A Naval Aviator's worst nightmare!
 
Tan Flyr
Posts: 1576
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2000 11:07 pm

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Mon Dec 18, 2000 12:31 am

At one time several of the LAX-MIA flights were operated with A-300's. If I recall correctly these were switched to 757's about the time the 8 units were re-configured for trans-Atlantic service.

Was just one one of the A-300's last week(MIA-SJU). The f/a's call them agony300's! His opinion was that they will be around for 4-6 yrs yet. We speculated together on that the replacment would be. For the lower yield routes to SJU/MIA the 753 might be the one, for others, the 764 or 763's could be assigned to them. Neither expects that you will see 777 flying MIA/JFK-SJU any time soon.
 
flyaa757
Posts: 850
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 1999 7:12 am

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Mon Dec 18, 2000 4:47 am

Actually, the A300 has never flown a revenue flight into DFW AFAIK.

The aircraft did operate MIA-LAX, MIA-ORD, SJU-ORD, and ORD-LAS at one time or another though.
 
Guest

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Mon Dec 18, 2000 5:23 am

I'm taking an AA A300 from MIA to San Jose, Costa Rica next week in First/ Business. How is the business class in the 2 class configured A300's. Are there PTV's? What's the pitch?

Thanks.
 
Fleet Service
Posts: 473
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2000 11:58 am

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Mon Dec 18, 2000 6:24 am

Actually, JFK is the MX base for the A300 fleet.
Yes, I actually *do* work for an airline,how about you?
 
flyaa757
Posts: 850
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 1999 7:12 am

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Mon Dec 18, 2000 7:09 am

Unfortuantely the 2 class AB3s have the old interiors. The F/C class is simply the old Brown domestic first class seat. No PTVs, only 16 seats. Dissapointing, but appropriate for most of the markets the caribbean A300s serve. Theres simply much more demand in the back on hte routes it flies.
 
dc10hound
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 4:18 pm

RE: Question Re: American A300's

Mon Dec 18, 2000 4:37 pm

AAL owns ten of the thirty-five A300s outright. They are on the fleet plan until
2010.

A total of ten (065-074) have been modified to the three-class (ER) configuration.

JFK is the B check base for the A300. MIA can have quite a few overnights.
TULE is the overhaul base.

If your lucky, they put some of the 3 classers on north/south routes occasionally, usually just JFK/BOS - MIA/SJU.

The airplane makes lots of $$$. It's just a pain.
"Eagles soar. But weasels never get sucked into jet intakes.."