B737
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2000 8:59 pm

Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:26 am

Hello everyone
Watching and old film of the Concorde this evening,it came to mind that I have never heared of a concorde flight to the eastern side of the world like Singapore or Bangkok, etc.
And if anyone know of any Concorde routes other than Paris-New york or London-Barbados.I would be very greatful if you share them with me.
Million thanks in Advance
b737
 
ryu2
Posts: 1545
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 8:18 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:28 am

Singapore Airlines flew the Concorde in conjuction with BA on LHR-Bahrain-SIN, in 1979-1980, but services were quickly stopped, mostly because of the inability to fly supersonic for most of the way, and the lack of demand.

There is at least one picture on airliners.net of the Concorde in the special livery (SQ on one side, BA on another); if you search for it, you'll find it.
 
SR3496
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 06, 2000 8:21 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:31 am

Wasn't there a flight from Europe to Caracas?
 
Early Air
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2001 6:53 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:32 am

The concorde does not have enough furl capacity to make it from the western side of the US to Asia. Mabye it would have been a good idea to send it to Hawaii though. They pry could have made it in about 1.5 hours. Also, most people do not want to pay for concorde. The reason JFK-LHR is popular is because that is a very large business route and large companies are paying for the flights.

Rgds,
Early Air
 
AF A380
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2000 6:13 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Rou

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:36 am

Hello

Concorde is optimized for transatlantic flight. When It come from Paris to JFK, It has almost no fuel any more. It's very short. Concorde is not able to go to Washington DC from Paris although BA can go to DC from London. Concorde has a really short range that's why it can't fly to Asia. It would be too expensive to make a stop ,at Dubai for example, because Concorde use a lot of fuel to take off.
 
deltairlines
Posts: 6875
Joined: Mon May 24, 1999 4:47 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Rou

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:49 am

SQ did operate it with BA. There is a picture of it here on Airliners.

Jeff
 
Hepkat
Posts: 2134
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2000 8:22 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:53 am

Question: Why do people refer to the Concorde as if it's a person or a proper noun? Shouldn't it be "THE" Concorde, instead of Concorde? I seem to hear this with Brits a lot.

For example, shouldn't one of AF A380's sentences read "The Concorde is optimized for transatlantic flight"? We never say "Airbus 340 is optimized for long haul flights", or "Boeing 747-400 is the largest airliner in the world."

Any explanations?
 
MAH4546
Posts: 24522
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 1:44 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 8:48 am

AF A380, why can the Concorde not fly CDG-IAD when it flew (from 1984 to 1991) LHR-MIA daily? LHR-MIA is a longer route, no?
a.
 
patroni
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 1999 7:49 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 9:02 am

Ok, it's not Asia, but if my memory serves me well, AF used the Concorde to South America (Rio? Sao Paulo?) with a fuel stop in Dakar... don't know however when that was...

Thomas
 
FlyVirgin744
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 1999 8:35 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 9:05 am

I'm pretty sure the MIA run wasn't non-stop. Thats over 4000 miles and Concorde has something like 3300.
Sometimes I go about in pity for myself and all the while a great wind carries me across the sky.
 
cedarjet
Posts: 8101
Joined: Mon May 24, 1999 1:12 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 9:08 am

Lots of misunderstandings about Concorde's range. Washington to Paris is easily operated. London to Miami is, on the other hand, completely impossible - BA's MIA service was operated via Washington. Yes, AF had services to Caracas. Also AF flew to Rio via Dacca in West Africa, so the cities I know of that have enjoyed sustained Concorde scheduled service are:

London
Paris
New York JFK
Washington Dulles
Dallas Fort Worth
Caracas
Bahamas
Dacca
Rio
Bahrein
Singapore
Miami
Lisbon (en route to the Bahamas - don't know about traffic rights)
fly Saha Air 707s daily from Tehran's downtown Mehrabad to Mashhad, Kish Island and Ahwaz
 
SIN_SQ
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2000 2:36 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 10:50 am

Air France does have chartered flights abroad their Concordes to few asian airports. One of the Concordes can be seen at Hong Kong's Chep Lap Kok airport. There are several photos showing Air France concorde landing at this airport. You can find them here.


Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Y.K. Cummins NG

It is taking off at Chep Lap Kok...

It is very rare to see the Concordes at any major Asian airports.

Political reasons were involved when SIA flew Concorde flights from London to Singapore in 1979-1980. Such reasons were complaints from Indonesia and Malaysia over noise generated from the Concorde. Only one Concorde was flying over Indonesia and Malaysia. I do not understand why they made the fuss. There is really no differences from F16 fighters flying over these airspace. This really killed the supersonic flight from Singapore to London!

The other reasons - SIA finds it very expensive to operate the Concorde - it needs alot of fuel. The ticket to fly on the Concorde cost the bomb - leading to low number of travellers - only rich people could afford in late 1970s.

SIA Concorde operated from Paya Lebar International Airport (before all international flights are shifted to Changi International Airport in 1981). So far Changi does not have any known chartered/scheduled flights on the Concordes prior to grounding all the Concordes.

I really wish to see last surviving supersonic plane to make a few last rare trips to Changi before the last Concorde ceases taking to the skies.
 
USAFHummer
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 10:51 am

Cedar,

BA uses it to Grantley Adams Airport in Barbados, I dont think they flew it to the Bahamas though, although NAS could handle one...

Greg
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
BostonBeau
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2000 11:55 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 11:30 am

As I recall there were also payload restrictions on Concorde due to the air temperature when taking off from the refueling stop in the middle east...which made it even less profitable.
 
B737
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2000 8:59 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 6:43 pm

Thanks to everyone
Very informative this forum.Their should be a way to repay you Guys than just,with a thank you,because without your kindness in sharing your knowledge with people like me,our curiousities would remain curiousties for ages.
Thank you!!! sorry send me the cheque (LOL)  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Best regards and a million thanks
B737
 
aviasian
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2001 8:11 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 7:40 pm

Just a little correction on the post by SIN_SQ.

The Concorde has indeed been to Singapore Changi Airport.

The British Airways Concorde has made numerous visits to Changi, and a pair of Air France Concordes transited Changi when ferrying French President Miterrand between Paris and Indonesia on a State Visit.

Cedarjet mentioned that the AF Concorde called at Dacca in West Africa . . . it should be Dakar. The city of Dacca is in Bangladesh (now it is known as Dhaka).

 
AFa340-300E
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 3:49 am

DKR

Sun Mar 04, 2001 8:04 pm

Hello,

This is indeed not Dacca but rather Dakar (Senegal).

The Concorde has no sufficient range to operate non-stop on LHR-MIA. As a matter of fact, it is already payload-restrictied on LHR-IAD.

There was no mention of it, but MEX was served as a continuation of the Air France's CDG-IAD flights at one time.

Best regards,
Alain Mengus
 
samspain
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2001 4:02 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Rou

Sun Mar 04, 2001 8:14 pm

Air France flew the Concorde to both Caracas and Rio with a refueling stop at Santa Maria (Açores) and Dakar respectevely... The funny thing was that a normal flight from CCS to CDG at that time on a 747-100 took more or less the same than on the Concorde with the stopover. At Santa Maria airpor Air France designed a "Supersonic Lounge" where passangers waited while the plane was refueling... Maybe someone has a picture of that place?
 
Guest

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Rou

Sun Mar 04, 2001 8:37 pm

Could someone post a like to the picture or tell us the registration of the aircraft?

HL  Smile
 
AFa340-300E
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 3:49 am

CCS-CDG

Sun Mar 04, 2001 8:38 pm

Hello Samspain,

The CCS-CDG was performed with tailwinds and the technical stop-over was often not done for that reason.

To gain additional supersonic time, the Concorde would sometimes enter the airspace over France via that of the JFK flights.

The Captain Jean-Paul Le Moel set the speed record on this particular route.

Best regards,
Alain mengus
 
Airbus A380
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2001 3:54 am

Concorde Have Been To Asian Cities

Sun Mar 04, 2001 9:53 pm

Hi,

Sin_Sq made a mistake. The Concorde had only landed and takeoff at Changi, not Paya Lebar. If any of you is in Singapore, you could imagine the suffering of the nearby Hougang, Punggol, Tampines, Eunos, Marine Parade and Geylang Housing Estates' residents. The Concorde would have take off over these estates if it were to be still operational for civil use.

Here are some of SIA/BA Concorde pics.


Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Clive Dyball



Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © AirNikon

 
Airbus A380
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2001 3:54 am

RE: Concorde Have Been To Asian Cities

Sun Mar 04, 2001 10:11 pm

"if it were to be still operational for civil use"

For the sentence above, I was talking about Paya Lebar Airport, not Concorde.
 
TurbineBeaver
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 1:50 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 10:20 pm

AFa340-300E

You are right!!! THere is no way that we would see any concordes coming here to Dacca (Dhaka is politically correct). The runways are horrible anyways!!! Just Biman DC10s and A310s and BA 777s and SIA A310s and 340s and TG MD11s, EK 330s and 777s, SV 742/3s and PIA A300s. And dragon and malaysian 330s.

I wish we could see the concorde come here!!!

TB
 
aviasian
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2001 8:11 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 11:00 pm

Airbus A380

I do not know if I understood you correctly and wish to clarify that the BA/SQ Concorde had indeed operated regularly out of Paya Lebar Airport in 1979 / 1980.

The prototype Concorde (002 I think) made a call at Paya Lebar Airport on its Far East Sales tour in 1972, and the Air France Concorde (in old colours) actually dropped in on 3 November 1976.

Paya Lebar Airport sure did have her share of Concorde flights, and so did Changi.

 
MAS777
Posts: 2757
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 1999 7:40 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Sun Mar 04, 2001 11:48 pm

THe BA/SQ Concorde service stopped due to the fuel crisis and spiralling prices in oil in 1980. Malaysia and Indonesia were not keen on the Concorde service as at that time - the Concorde (Hepkat - note - not all 'Brits' are on first name terms with the aircraft and many if not most do call it THE Concorde) interupted national air defence systems.

The old international airport at Kuala Lumpur used to see Air France calling in with their Concordes from time to time on charter flights and now with the new airport we've seen Air France disappear altogether  Sad
 
SInGAPORE_AIR
Posts: 11619
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2000 4:06 am

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Mon Mar 05, 2001 12:04 am

Ah! The days when British Airways and Singapore Airlines actually liked eachother!

Anyone can fly, only the best Soar.
 
AeroGlobeAir7
Posts: 569
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 12:09 pm

RE: Why The Concorde Never Fly (flew)Any Asian Routes

Mon Mar 05, 2001 2:58 am

Air France used to charter Concorde's into Hong Kong( they would've had to have stopovers along the way due to the Concorde's range), I believe they stopped doing so before the tragic crash. Any one hope as much as I do to get to see those birds back in the air again? I never got to see one myself, even when one came to visit us in Kansas City, so I'm hoping they go back into service, so I can see one, they look like an awesome plane.