lorenzo
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 5:38 am

600x1200 Scanner?

Thu Jun 17, 1999 12:13 am

Hey!

I'we ordered a new flatbed scanner for my computer. It's a 600x1200 DPI 36 BITS scanner.. is this enough for good quality airline pics?

I have A LOT of aircraft pics laying here.. just waiting to arrive on this page :)

Greetings
Thomas
 
flyf15
Posts: 6633
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 11:10 am

RE: 600x1200 Scanner?

Thu Jun 17, 1999 2:09 am

Yep, thats more than enough to do good scans of aircraft. I usually run about 165x165 for my pics and they scan fine.
 
Dufo
Posts: 796
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:41 am

RE: 600x1200 Scanner?

Thu Jun 17, 1999 4:25 am

I have both HP Scanjet 5P (300*600DPI) and Nikon LS30 Slide Scanner (2700DPI, for slides only) and the only problem is that the pictures themselves are too 'grainy'.

...unless you use $20 25ASA/DIN colour films :)


Jernej
I seriously think I just creamed my pants without any influence from any outside variables.
 
Dazed767
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 11:55 am

RE: 600x1200 Scanner?

Thu Jun 17, 1999 12:07 pm

I found a 300x600 scanner for $69 but after rebates it's $39. I didn't think it was good since it is only 300x600, but I'm guessing it's good now. Should I buy it? I mean for that price, that's good.
 
flyf15
Posts: 6633
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 11:10 am

Dazed767

Thu Jun 17, 1999 12:26 pm

Well... Dazed, I'm guessing it would be good but I dont really know. They might be able to scan at that res. but not get that good of an image. I just scan in the upper 1-hundreds because that creates a good size image for most computer screens. It creates great images, but was upwards of US$1100. The best thing to do would be to try to find somewhere that you can try out a scanner similar to what you are looking and try it out.

Who is online