User avatar
A300 American
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 8:37 am

No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 9:17 am

Hello all,
A couple of weeks ago, my family and myself were on an American A300 bound for Lima from Miami. I was seated in the 34th row, when I noticed that the captain did not deploy the take off flaps. We moved into take off position then I heard the engines at full roar. I saw that the flaps were not deployed (I figured the front slats were down into position) and I nearly had a heart attack. Of course, we took off normally and I was left stupified.  Nuts Is this a normal practice for 767s,A300s, etc???
Regards

 
Soku39
Posts: 1731
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2000 7:16 am

RE: No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 9:19 am

Only normal no flaps takeoff I have ever heard of is the A330.
The Ohio Player
 
User avatar
A300 American
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 8:37 am

RE: No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 9:28 am

Soku39, I can reassure you that they were not in position, they were in normal cruise position (or position that one would see them at the gate). We must have been lightly loaded. The only other time I witnessed this was at takeoff with a USAirways Fokker 100. (Philadelphia to Boston).
 
Guest

RE: No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 9:29 am

Previously discussed at length but yes, the A300-600 is approved for a "0" flap takeoff. The flap/slat handle is set to the first notch 15/0 (slats=15, flaps=0).The slats are extended but you probably couldn't see them from your seat.

It's normal and approved.

A300Capt
 
rendezvous
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 9:14 pm

RE: No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 10:12 am

I've noticed and Air New Zealnd 762ER taking off with only the slats down, it was off on a 3 hour trans-Tasman flight to Sydney.
 
TAA_Airbus
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 1999 4:34 pm

RE: No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 12:27 pm

Added performance may not of been required.


Anyway, Im sure the pilots knew what they were doing. If they didnt, you wouldnt be here now!
 
Red Panda
Posts: 1433
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2000 12:58 pm

RE: No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 3:30 pm

This has been discussed like two months ago. Yes, lightly loaded acfts can t/o w/ zero flap. But slats are a must.

r panda
 
Skystar
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2000 3:58 pm

RE: No Takeoff Flaps....

Thu Aug 02, 2001 7:32 pm

No Airbus Fly By Wire (A319, A320, A321, A330 or A340) can takeoff without flap.

Minimum takeoff configuration is Flap 1, which will deploy Flap 1+F which is flap and slat. You will have all sorts of alarms go off if you attempt to do so. It is impossible to only deploy slat on the ground.

The B767-200 and B737-300 are also aircraft which can takeoff on Flap 1 (slat), as well as the A300 (also the A310, I believe) and the Fokker 100 often takesoff without any flap whatsoever.

Cheers,

Justin

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos