mats

CO Or DL To South America--Help Me Decide

Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:34 am

I'm planning to go to visit my family in South America in April. I can't decide which airline to fly. Here are the facts:

1. The routing will be CMH-GIG then EZE-CMH.

2. I will fly in business class.

3. Both Continental and Delta offer a discounted business class fare of about $2100. Fares are much, much higher on Aerolíneas Argentina, American, LAN Argentina, United, or Varig. So those are NOT valid options.

4. I do not have elite status anymore. I used to have it on both Delta and Continental but I don't travel as much anymore. I have a substantial number of miles on Continental, none left on Delta.

Here is my logic:

CONTINENTAL
Pros:
1. Nicer seats: one less seat per row on the 767.
2. Better meals: Continental usually has slightly better meals than Delta. Just a slight edge.

Cons:
1. I've had some bad experiences with really crabby crews in BusinessFirst. In fact, they were downright hostile. Who wants to put up with that?
2. The outbound would require a stop in São Paulo.

DELTA
Pros:
1. By far the nicest cabin crews. I've had many good experiences in BusinessElite.
2. Decent seats and food. Not mind-blowing, but certainly comfortable.
3. Nonstop service from Atlanta to Rio de Janeiro.

Cons:
1. Last trip on Delta was a disappointment. I flew CVG-HNL and vice versa in first. The crews were reasonably nice but the food was shockingly poor and poorly presented too. Everything had gone downhill. I thought I might never want to fly Delta again. But I'm told that the cutbacks don't apply to Business Elite, just domestic first.
2. They're bankrupt.

COfaninBOS

RE: CO Or DL To South America--Help Me Decide

Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:47 am

In my biased opinion, CO.