SDLSimme
Topic Author
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 9:44 pm

What Can I Do At ORD?

Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:58 am

This summer, I will have two layovers at ORD. One 5-hour and one 8-hour. What can I do to entertain myself? Where are the best spotting locations within the airport? Also, how long does it usually take to get through immigration, and to get from terminal 5 to terminal 1?
A319-A321, A332-A333, RJ85, B733-B738, B743-B744, B752, B762-B764, B772-B773, CRJ200-CRJ700, Dash 8 Q300-Q400, ERJ 145,
 
jhooper
Posts: 5560
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2001 8:27 pm

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:50 am

If I were you, I'd stop by the Mayor's office to complain about closing Meigs.
Last year 1,944 New Yorkers saw something and said something.
 
sw733
Posts: 5298
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:19 am

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Sun Mar 12, 2006 8:07 am

Sit in a seat for a long time with nothing to do, waiting to go somewhere. Oh wait, sorry, that's what you do when you're already ON the plane or just ABOUT to get on the plane at ORD  Wink
 
BritPilot777
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:05 am

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Sun Mar 12, 2006 9:25 am

Opposite gate C18 (United Terminal) there is a great Sub place I suggest the Turkey Sub!! Big grin

BP777
Forever Flight
 
boeingfanyyz
Posts: 970
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 12:12 pm

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:08 pm

Well, you can wait......and wait.......and wait.......and wait.....and go to the washroom.......and wait........and wait.....

Cheers,
Boeingfanyyz  airplane 
"If it aint boeing, it aint going!", "Friends are like condoms...they protect you when things get hard!"
 
LFutia
Posts: 3155
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 11:04 am

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Mon Mar 13, 2006 11:04 am

unfortunately, O'Hare isn't like Amsterdam, but you can walk between Terminals 1,2 & 3 without getting hassled. Other than that you can walk around and pity the passengers who fly out of United Express's overcrowded gates of Terminal 2.

Leo
Leo/ORD -- Groetjes uit de VS! -- Heeft u laatst nog met KLM gevlogen?
 
HT
Posts: 5857
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 6:20 am

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Mon Mar 13, 2006 2:57 pm

Quoting SDLSimme (Thread starter):
8-hour.

On that one you might want to consider to make a quick trip downtown.
Should be enough time to take the "L" and pay a quick visit to the Top of Sears Tower (I once made such a very quick visit using MDW).
But make sure to be back in time waaay before your schedule departure time.
-HT
Carpe diem ! Life is too short to waste your time ! Keep in mind, that today is the first day of the rest of your life !
 
aaden
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:49 am

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Mon Mar 13, 2006 4:54 pm

i have know idea about any of that. but i have flown threw that airport before, you should see if you can find a pizza place. all the pizza is good in that airport pizzera uno is in concurse 2,3,5 Reggio's Pizza is in 1,3 connies pizza 1.
 
FlyBoy84
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 4:17 am

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:17 am

If you fly UA there is a great food court on C Concourse across from the escalators. The seating area is great for spotting takeoffs from 14R/32L. If you fly AA, there is good spotting from the end of the H/K Concourse - or G, of you're on American Eagle. I've never been to E/F gates before - and hope I never have to, so I don't know about that area.

Quoting HT (Reply 6):
On that one you might want to consider to make a quick trip downtown.
Should be enough time to take the "L" and pay a quick visit to the Top of Sears Tower (I once made such a very quick visit using MDW).
But make sure to be back in time waaay before your schedule departure time.
-HT

If I had a layover that long, I would take a trip downtown, too.

Just out of curiosity, are you flying two different airlines? Most airlines will only allow a maximum layover of 4 hours without calling it something other than a layover and charging more $$$$$  confused 

Oh WELL...try to make the BEST of it while you're there. I purposely schedule long layovers in case my first leg is late leaving. If the flight leaves on time and I spend the whole 2.5 - 4 hrs. waiting, then so be it. I usually eat, spot, and nap (or read a magazine)  yawn 
 
SDLSimme
Topic Author
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 9:44 pm

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Sun Mar 19, 2006 10:46 pm

Quoting FlyBoy84 (Reply 8):
Just out of curiosity, are you flying two different airlines? Most airlines will only allow a maximum layover of 4 hours without calling it something other than a layover and charging more $$$$$

The first (5-hour) is because I arrive on BA, and then I have booked a one-way ticket to DSM on UA. The reason that I have done this is because I will be arriving back to Chicago with car so I don't need a round trip ticket.

The 8-hour layover is because I arrive from DCA on AA, and my BA flight leaves late. My family is taking KL back to ARN though and their flight leaves earlier so we figured it would be better with too much time to transfer than too little. But I like just hanging out at airports so it's not a very big deal. As long as there is some place where I can sit and watch planes, I'm perfectly happy  Smile
A319-A321, A332-A333, RJ85, B733-B738, B743-B744, B752, B762-B764, B772-B773, CRJ200-CRJ700, Dash 8 Q300-Q400, ERJ 145,
 
SDLSimme
Topic Author
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 9:44 pm

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:02 am

One thing I forgot to ask, are there any power outlets that I can use to charge my iPod at ORD? Are there any at LHR?
A319-A321, A332-A333, RJ85, B733-B738, B743-B744, B752, B762-B764, B772-B773, CRJ200-CRJ700, Dash 8 Q300-Q400, ERJ 145,
 
HT
Posts: 5857
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 6:20 am

RE: What Can I Do At ORD?

Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:30 pm

Quoting SDLSimme (Reply 10):
power outlets

Usually there should be.
At U.S.-airports, look near telephone boxes for them. Or use one of those workstations for business people.

In any case:
Be sure to bring along the appropriate Travel adaptors (two flat pins for the U.S. and 3 bigger flat pins for the U.K.).
Make sure, your power supply will work on 115 Volts without needing an extra 115/230 volt converter.
-HT
Carpe diem ! Life is too short to waste your time ! Keep in mind, that today is the first day of the rest of your life !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KBUF and 18 guests