flyf15

What Can I Do To Make Your Flight Better?

Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:15 am

Well, I've gotten some good feedback on the "Why are passengers so rude?" thread, so I'd like to start this one. I'm a pilot for a large CRJ operator here in the US. I'd like to know what I can do as a pilot to make your experience better. What have pilots done that you like? What do you wish they did?

Please keep it realistic though, theres only so much I can do within my power. I can't change flight times, I can't let you up front during cruise, I can't give you free beer for no reason, etc.

warreng24

RE: What Can I Do To Make Your Flight Better?

Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:26 am

Quoting Flyf15 (Thread starter):
I'm a pilot for a large CRJ operator here in the US.

Convince your management to dump the CRJ's in favor of E-Jets.

No, but seriously...

Pax aren't totally stupid. Keep us informed. We like to have regular status updates (especially if we're delayed on the ground or in the air). Even if you don't know anything new, its nice to know that you don't. Nothing irks me more than to have a Captain that only comes on the intercom once per flight just to say "Welcome aboard flight XXXX to XXXX, we're crusing at XXXXXX, we'll be there soon."

Give me an update as we get closer! Let me know how the ride is going to be? When do we plan on hitting some (known) bumps?

Also, a big thumbs up to the Captains that give a heads up:
"Folks, we've started our descent into XXX airport, in about 15 min I'll be turning on the Fasten Seat Belt Sign for the duration of the flight, so if you need to use the facilities, now would be a good time."

AA737-823

Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:41 am

Honesty, and communication.
Tell me why we're late, what's wrong, etc. Granted, I am a mechanic... but I think it applies to most people. Just be frank.