jamie86
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:19 am

Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:23 am

Hi, just like the post for Zurich, except FRA this time.

Im flying on Qantas 9 from SYD and i have roughly 1.15 to connect to Finn air flight to Helsinki. They both operate out of the same terminal, and i should be able to check all the way through with it been One world.

Is 1 hour enough time in FRA though? provided the QF flight is on time

Cheers
JAMIE
 
FlyboyOz
Posts: 1743
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2000 10:05 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:00 am

Well it will be hard to tell whether QF 9 will be delayed or not. 1.15 hours isn't enough. The golden rules for the travel agent is that the connection time needs to be more than 2 hours.

Last time, i flew SQ to FRA. I saw QF/BA for FRA had been delayed for 2 hours.

However, you're a QF cabin crew. Is it true that most QF international flights have been delayed all the time?
The Spirit of AustraliAN - Longreach
 
LHboyatDTW
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:53 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:49 am

1 hour in FRA is cutting it rather close. On LH I had a 45 minute layover turn into a 5 hour one because I missed my connecting flight.
The air in the clouds is very pure and fine, bracing and delicious because it's the same the angels breathe.
 
sleeperseat
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:04 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:45 am

Hi there,

1 hour will definately be not enough, especially after such a long flight where almost everyone has to get through the immigration.... OK, FRA is not ATL/JFK or ORD, but it takes some time.....

I'd even calculate 2,5 hours to make it, if you don't want to rush every minute. You have to keep in mind that gates are changing on a very short notice, and hey, don't forget the long ways to walk in FRA.

Have a nice trip
 
PlymSpotter
Posts: 10002
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 7:32 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:51 am

Hmmm, not sounding good. Later this year I have a RIX-FRA-BRS flight with just a one hour connection in the summer  scratchchin 
...love is just a camouflage for what resembles rage again...
 
User avatar
rogerbcn
Posts: 1173
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:45 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:08 pm

Hola Jamie86!

Despite all previous posts, I have made it twice in FRA with 1 hour connections.

BCN-FRA-YYC which involved changing terminals through the tunnel connecting Terminals A&B. Even once with my father who in his 80s is not really a fast walker.

It is true that we did not have to go through customs, just the passport check because we were arriving from a Schengen country, leaving Europe, so I wish you the best of luck.

Salut!

Roger
"At reise er at leve" H.C. Andersen (Travelling is Living)
 
JGPH1A
Posts: 15080
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 4:36 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:34 am



Quoting FlyboyOz (Reply 1):
The golden rules for the travel agent is that the connection time needs to be more than 2 hours.

There is no "golden rule". Minimum Connect times are specified by the airports and/or airlines, and provided the res system says the MCT is OK, you're OK too.

Amadeus says a connection QF005 to the AY830 is fine. The published MCT is 45 minutes.

I've done short connections at FRA, from one end of B to the distant bloody end gate at A, and from A to C in under an hour. You have to get a move on, but it is possible. T2 to T2 should be a piece of cake, although immigration might be busy.
Young and beautiful and thin and gorgeous AND BANNED ! Cya at airspaceonline.com, losers
 
NG1Fan
Posts: 329
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:53 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:17 am

Knowing FRA, I would think that 1.15 hour connection can be done, but stressful. Esp since you've got to pass through the Schengen passport control before AY and another scan of your hand luggage. And FRA that time of the morning is quite busy, with all the Asian flights arriving then.

Look at it another way: you're travelling into FRA, most likely arriving at some ungodly hour in the morning. THen you're rushing to another flight. Best-case scenario: you'll make it, arrive at your destination and then what? You've still got a long wait till bed-time. So I would personally take a later AY flight and wander around FRA - and do some spotting - lots to do there. You'll still get to bed at the same time in Finland, but at least you've got less stress making this tight connection.

Having said that, I made a Singapore Airlines to Lufthansa connection some years ago, it was 55 min. It was tight, time-wise, and we had a baby with us as well. But it did not involve passport control (since the LH flight was to a non-Schengen country), and no need for the extra security screening (this was in 2004).

NG1Fan
 
caspritz78
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:51 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Thu May 01, 2008 12:49 am

Qantas and Finnair are both in Terminal 2 Concourse E. So one hour is enough to transfer. Really no problem. You will go through passport control for Schengen and then you don't even need to change the Terminal or even the Concourse.
 
jamie86
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:19 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Thu May 01, 2008 1:04 am

Thanks, thats what i thought. I also want to fly on finn airs E170 so i want to make the connection lol.

Is there much of a process going through Schengen (what is that?)?
JAMIE
 
FlyboyOz
Posts: 1743
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2000 10:05 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Thu May 01, 2008 1:13 am

Really? I arrived FRA early in the morning by SQ. There weren't many asian pax around. It was quick and easy to get out of the terminal in a few min.
The Spirit of AustraliAN - Longreach
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7182
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Thu May 01, 2008 6:51 am

One hour is more than enough time to connect in FRA, especially if you're arriving and departing from the same terminal. FRA is usually quite good with getting people through passport control, especially if your connecting. Usually doesn't take more than a few minutes.
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
User avatar
rogerbcn
Posts: 1173
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:45 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Thu May 01, 2008 7:47 am

Hola Jamie86!

Quoting Jamie86 (Reply 9):
Is there much of a process going through Schengen (what is that?)?

Schengen is the name of an agreement between many European countries, EU ad non-EU members like Switzerland, that allow people to move around without passport control among them.

That is, for example, a flight between Germany and Spain is the same as a flight between Barcelona and Madrid: no passport control or no duty-free items at discounted prices.

Salut!

Roger
"At reise er at leve" H.C. Andersen (Travelling is Living)
 
Guest

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Thu May 01, 2008 8:01 am

One hour will be enough. I have many times connected at FRA within one hour, and that aint any problems. So everything shall be okay, if not the flight gets delayed.
 
Viscount724
Posts: 18974
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:32 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Fri May 02, 2008 12:38 am



Quoting Rogerbcn (Reply 12):
Schengen is the name of an agreement between many European countries, EU ad non-EU members like Switzerland, that allow people to move around without passport control among them.

Although Switzerland has agreed to join Schengen, it hasn't been implemented yet. Probably around the end of this year. Airports require changes to separate the Schengen and non-Schengen traffic flows. I think work is already underway at both ZRH and GVA.
 
jamie86
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:19 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Fri May 02, 2008 6:58 am

Thank you everyone for your help. I now feel less worried about transiting in 1 hour. Now i just have to hope that the Qf flight is on time.

Is it an airlines repsonsibility to organise onward flights if they are delayed and the reason for you missing your connection?
JAMIE
 
Guest

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Fri May 02, 2008 7:20 am



Quoting Jamie86 (Reply 15):
Is it an airlines repsonsibility to organise onward flights if they are delayed and the reason for you missing your connection?

Only if you have both flights in one and same ticket.
 
FlyboyOz
Posts: 1743
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2000 10:05 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Sat May 03, 2008 1:43 am



Quoting Jamie86 (Reply 15):
Is it an airlines repsonsibility to organise onward flights if they are delayed and the reason for you missing your connection?

Yes I think so because QF and Finnair are in oneworld alliance. It shouldn't be the problem! If QF has a codeshare with AY, AY can wait for the QF pax to arrive.
The Spirit of AustraliAN - Longreach
 
Leskova
Posts: 5547
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 3:39 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Sat May 03, 2008 8:19 am



Quoting Sleeperseat (Reply 3):
I'd even calculate 2,5 hours to make it, if you don't want to rush every minute. You have to keep in mind that gates are changing on a very short notice, and hey, don't forget the long ways to walk in FRA.

Not within T2.

Quoting PlymSpotter (Reply 4):
Hmmm, not sounding good. Later this year I have a RIX-FRA-BRS flight with just a one hour connection in the summer

Don't worry... as others have said - one hour is more than enough.

Quoting Rogerbcn (Reply 5):
Despite all previous posts, I have made it twice in FRA with 1 hour connections.

While I don't connect through FRA - because I live in Frankfurt - I'm frequently not even at the airport one hour prior to departure for my flights to VIE, ZRH or LHR: and for the latter, I always have to pass through security twice.

One hour really is enough.

Quoting JGPH1A (Reply 6):
T2 to T2 should be a piece of cake, although immigration might be busy.

Agreed - though all of the times that I've gone through immigration in T2, it didn't take more than 10 minutes including waiting time. The queue might look bad at the beginning, but it usually gets worked quickly.

Quoting Jamie86 (Reply 9):
Is there much of a process going through Schengen (what is that?)?

...  Wink ... the reason why you'll have to show your passport here in Frankfurt, but not in Helsinki.

Quoting FlyboyOz (Reply 17):
Quoting Jamie86 (Reply 15):
Is it an airlines repsonsibility to organise onward flights if they are delayed and the reason for you missing your connection?

Yes I think so because QF and Finnair are in oneworld alliance. It shouldn't be the problem! If QF has a codeshare with AY, AY can wait for the QF pax to arrive.

As B_B747forever already mentioned: same ticket = protected. Two different tickets = no protection.
Smile - it confuses people!
 
User avatar
WildcatYXU
Posts: 2607
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 2:05 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Mon May 12, 2008 1:39 am

How is the connection from LH's Schengen flights to LH's TATL flights? I've booked a ticket for my relatives on LH. They arrive from VIE on LH 3531 and continue to YYZ on LH 470. Their connection time is exactly 1 hour, so they're a bit concerned. Do they have a reason to be concerned? (I was assured by the agent during booking that this connection time is OK)
310, 319, 320, 321, 333, 343, 345, 346, 732, 735, 73G, 738, 744, 752, 762, 763, 77L, 77W, 788, AT4, AT7, BEH, CR2, CRA, CR9, DH1, DH3, DH4, E75, E90, E95, F28, F50, F100, Saab 340, YAK40
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7182
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Mon May 12, 2008 6:52 pm



Quoting WildcatYXU (Reply 19):
How is the connection from LH's Schengen flights to LH's TATL flights? I've booked a ticket for my relatives on LH. They arrive from VIE on LH 3531 and continue to YYZ on LH 470. Their connection time is exactly 1 hour, so they're a bit concerned. Do they have a reason to be concerned? (I was assured by the agent during booking that this connection time is OK)

They should be fine, it's the same process as coming internationally and cnx within the EU. After they arrive, they just need to double check what gate they have to go to (it may be in a different pier but they'll both be in Terminal 1). I would assume that they're arriving in Pier A and departing from Pier B, just a guess so I might be wrong on that. They can get to both piers either by the Sky LIne or by foot through a tunnel (I find this the fastest). They'll also have to go through a passport control, but this is done rather quickly, so no worries there.

In a nutshell, as long as their flight from VIE is on time, 1 hour is plenty to make that kind of connection. And as long as the flights are one ticket, LH will be responsible for re-booking them on an alternative flight if their flight is delayed and miss the connection.
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
a380us
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:55 am

RE: Is 1 Hour Enough Time In FRA

Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 am



Quoting Sleeperseat (Reply 3):
JFK

Hey I dont even see JFK as a problem with customs and immigration just when it comes to baggage.
www.JandACosmetics.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests