hamad
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2000 6:29 am

Switching FF Statusfrom UA To LH, Possible?

Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:43 am

i have been a premier with United for couple of years. moving back to Dubai, and having lufthansa serve both europe and the USA from Dubai, i thought it might be more practical with me to have the status switched to Lufthansa. i know that airlines within the USA will grant that, at least Delta, United, Northwest and Continental, but would that be possible between star alliance partners? and if i swich, would would be the benifits that i would lose as a united FF, opposed to a *A FF? and what would i gain on LH?

any inputs ?

thanks in advance for all the replies

[Edited 2008-09-03 21:45:23]
PHX - i miss spotting
 
User avatar
Stitch
Posts: 23214
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 4:26 am

RE: Switching FF Statusfrom UA To LH, Possible?

Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:45 am

I doubt they would do it for a Premier.

Just join M&M and start crediting to it.
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: Switching FF Statusfrom UA To LH, Possible?

Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:56 am

Not just that, in general airlines within the same alliance generally dont poach each others FF members.

Also hate to say it, but Premier is a rather low level, so not much of an enticement for another airline to match.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
hamad
Posts: 731
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2000 6:29 am

RE: Switching FF Statusfrom UA To LH, Possible?

Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:16 am



Quoting LAXintl (Reply 2):
Also hate to say it, but Premier is a rather low level, so not much of an enticement for another airline to match

I couldn't agree any more. yes, i am entitled to lots of benifits, but there are a lot of benifits that you don't get either, such as lounge access if you are traveling on international and connecting. and nowadays, the benifits are reducing, for example, in denver if you are not a premeir exec or above, you have to line up with all other passengers in the security line.
PHX - i miss spotting
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Switching FF Statusfrom UA To LH, Possible?

Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:41 am



Quoting HAMAD (Reply 3):
in denver if you are not a premeir exec or above, you have to line up with all other passengers in the security line.

That's not true. It's just an old sign. I'm a premier associate (below you) and they let me through.
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
User avatar
Stitch
Posts: 23214
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 4:26 am

RE: Switching FF Statusfrom UA To LH, Possible?

Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:39 pm

Well as a UA Star Silver, even if LH did agree to a status match, they would offer you Frequent Traveler, so you would still be a Star Silver. They would not make you a Senator / Star Gold. FT status would get you into LH Business lounges when flying LH, but no others (like Star Gold offers).
 
User avatar
Aeroflot777
Posts: 2995
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 2:19 pm

RE: Switching FF Statusfrom UA To LH, Possible?

Fri Sep 05, 2008 6:09 am



Quoting F9Widebody (Reply 4):
That's not true. It's just an old sign. I'm a premier associate (below you) and they let me through.

I pass through the Elite line in SLC every time I fly even though I'm not an Elite. They just don't care. But it saves me like 20 minutes at SLC rush hour.

Some airports simply don't check.

Aeroflot777

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests