jlarsson
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:44 pm

Transfering At ORD

Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:50 pm

Hi fellow a-netters.

I've been trying to find some information about transfering @ ORD but not found any good information anywhere so now I turn to you guys.

I will soon fly from GOT to LAS via CPH and ORD with SK & UA.

The transfer in CPH is no problem, but I only have 1h 55min to clear immigration and get from T5 to T1.

I have some question about that.  Confused

1. Is 1h 55min enough to clear immigration and get to T5?
2. Do I need to go outside the Transit area and then go through security again at T1?

thanx in advance

br, jlarsson
Next trip; ARN-FRA-YYC-YVR-SEA-ORD-BOS-MUC-GOT.
 
mt99
Posts: 6166
Joined: Wed May 26, 1999 5:41 am

RE: Transfering At ORD

Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:58 pm



Quoting Jlarsson (Thread starter):

1. Is 1h 55min enough to clear immigration and get to T5?

Should be OK

Quoting Jlarsson (Thread starter):
2. Do I need to go outside the Transit area and then go through security again at T1?

Yes and Yes
Step into my office, baby
 
steex
Posts: 1331
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:45 am

RE: Transfering At ORD

Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:01 pm



Quoting Jlarsson (Thread starter):
1. Is 1h 55min enough to clear immigration and get to T5?
2. Do I need to go outside the Transit area and then go through security again at T1?

1. In my opinion, that has the potential to be tight, but should be a doable transfer. There likely won't be any time to spare, though.

2. Unfortunately, yes. T5 at ORD is not directly connected to the other terminals, so you will actually need to leave the building and ride a tram to access T1. In my experience, security tends to flow relatively smoothly most of the time.
 
Cubsrule
Posts: 11517
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 12:13 pm

RE: Transfering At ORD

Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:05 pm



Quoting Jlarsson (Thread starter):
1. Is 1h 55min enough to clear immigration and get to T5?

I'd say it's doable, but don't dawdle. Not checking bags will help. If you misconnect, though, there is a later UA flight (it's Flight 1567 and it leaves at 2039 local).

Quoting Jlarsson (Thread starter):
2. Do I need to go outside the Transit area and then go through security again at T1?

Yes. After getting off the train, I'd walk down the stairs, turn left, and walk down to the checkpoint at the end of Terminal 1 (especially if your flight is leaving from B1 as it did today). The line down there is often a little shorter.
I can't decide whether I miss the tulip or the bowling shoe more
 
ADRIANGALT
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:11 pm

RE: Transfering At ORD

Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:08 pm

I would be a little concerned, you have a connection to make in CPH, if you hit problems starting out, it will bite you the rest of your journey. Presumably, you are on the first flight in the morning from GOT, so the plane should be on the ground already. Customs / Immigration can be slow in ORD. Hey, if you miss your connection, they will put you on the next flight to LAS....
Not everything you read is true!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests