AT
Topic Author

Question About Travelling To St. Maarten Vs Martin

Sat Jun 12, 2010 2:47 pm

Hello all,
I am traveling from New York to St. Maarten in mid July for vacation. I am confused as to the Dutch and the French sides of the island, and whether there are any restrictions or borders between the two.

I am a US Permanent Resident (Green Card Holder). When I checked the respective websites, it appears (unless I am wrong) that I do not need a visa for the Dutch side, but *WOULD* need a visa for the French side.
This is because green card holders from countries otherwise requiring visas are exempt from a visa for the Netherlands Antilles; however, green card holders from visa requiring nations are not exempt for the French territories.

But for all practical purposes isn't the island contiguous? There are no borders or immigration checks between the two halves? If so, can't one freely travel between the two halves?

Any informed advice would be most welcome. If necessary or the correct thing to do, I will then get a French visa.

And of course, as importantly, if anyone can recommend particular spotting locations by the airport, that would be lovely too.

airportplan

RE: Question About Travelling To St. Maarten Vs Ma

Sat Jun 12, 2010 2:49 pm

Thre are no borders or check ponts between each side of the island.

AT
Topic Author

Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:00 pm

Yes, that's what I read and was told.
But then it makes scarce sense that one would require a visa for only the French half.

Our hotel is on the Dutch side, but we will be (presumably) going frequently to the beaches/restaurants etc on the French side. Would I be violating any rules or laws if we did that?

747girl

Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:02 pm

No checkpoints between the Dutch and French sides. When I was there at Easter, we hired a car for the week and this was a great way to easily get around the island. I recommend the ferry trip to nearby Anguilla, but you will need your passport when you arrive there.