staralliance38
Posts: 1112
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:09 pm

Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 3:09 am

Since the Canadian Airlines acquisition, why is OW still headed up in Vancouver? Do you think it should be moved?
Roar, lion, roar
 
9252fly
Posts: 814
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 7:19 am

RE: Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 3:27 am

Good question. I'm getting a bit misty-eyed thinking about the past and what CP once was(forgetting the dismal financial situation). Never understood the decision for having the headquarters there in the first place,they must have decided it based on a coin toss. I will always remember the end of CP came after the CEO went to NYC to meet the other members of Oneworld,essentially pleading for support to ward off the AC counter-offer,only to walk away empty handed.
 
Viscount724
Posts: 19068
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:32 pm

RE: Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:23 am

Quoting 9252fly (Reply 1):
Never understood the decision for having the headquarters there in the first place,they must have decided it based on a coin toss.

Oneworld's first managing partner was Peter Buecking, a Canadian from YVR. He worked for CP Air in various marketing positions before moving to CX in 1982 where he moved up quickly and eventually became Director of Sales and Marketing at their HKG head office. He moved to Oneworld in 2000 and established their headquarters in YVR.

Found the following CX press release from 2000 referring to the establishment of Oneworld's YVR headquarters. John McCulloch, who had then just been appointed Oneworld's VP of marketing, is now the managing partner.
http://www.cathaypacific.com/cpa/en_...0706caa010VgnVCM22000022d21c39____

Excerpt from the press release re the YVR location. CP had already been taken over by AC then and was no longer a Oneworld member.

Vancouver was chosen as the base for the team as a convenient crossroads for oneworld members and to underline the alliance’s commitment to continue to offer the Canadian market choice and high quality services.
 
commavia
Posts: 9822
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:30 am

RE: Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 7:36 am

Two reasons:

1. Vancouver's time zone allows business to be done between OMC (oneworld Management Co.) and the respective airlines all around the world during the business day in both places. In other words, staff from OMC and the airline can have conference calls during business hours both in Vancouver and the airline's headquarters city.

2. Vancouver is considered (now, of course, post-CP) as a bit "neutral" as a city and not a particularly one-airline-dominated airport as far as the oneworld airlines go.
 
ktachiya
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:54 am

RE: Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 3:22 pm

Also, Canada is a country that is neutral in many aspects.

Perhaps placing it in Canada is because the ICAO headquarters are also placed in that city? And the other thing that comes to mind is that Vancouver is a convention city. I realized this after entering the aviation business but many conferences such as slot allocation conferences are often held in Vancouver. In addition, conferences where many airports and airlines meet (Routes Conference) is also hosted in Vancouver.

But now that you brought this up, it seems like a good explanation of why JAL decided to keep its YVR route in favour of AMS.

Also, I guess one world does have some presence in YVR. Cathay Pacific comes twice daily, JAL once daily, American from Dallas and QF tried a tag onto its SFO route to fly into YVR although they dropped it.
Flown on: DC-10-30, B747-200B, B747-300, B747-300SR, B747-400, B747-400D, B767-300, B777-200, B777-200ER, B777-300
 
User avatar
ClassicLover
Posts: 3956
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:27 pm

RE: Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:59 pm

Quoting ktachiya (Reply 4):
QF tried a tag onto its SFO route to fly into YVR although they dropped it.

QF operates this seasonally for the ski season.
I do quite enjoy a spot of flying - more so when it's not in Economy!
 
tribird1011
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:08 pm

RE: Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:15 pm

Quoting ktachiya (Reply 4):
Perhaps placing it in Canada is because the ICAO headquarters are also placed in that city?

Not quite... the ICAO headquarters are on the other side of the country in YUL.  
 
Viscount724
Posts: 19068
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:32 pm

RE: Why Is OneWorld Still HQed In Vancouver?

Sun Jun 13, 2010 7:16 pm

Quoting ClassicLover (Reply 5):
Quoting ktachiya (Reply 4):
QF tried a tag onto its SFO route to fly into YVR although they dropped it.

QF operates this seasonally for the ski season.

QF dropped their seasonal YVR service a couple of years ago, about the time AC started daily nonstop YVR-SYD service.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests