jgw787
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 3:26 pm

Why Does BA Use Only 1 Jetway?

Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:17 am

Why does Ba only use one jetway, for example all of the T5 gates only have one jetway and T3 used to only have 1 jetway per gate before Star moved in.
 
nqyguy
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:56 pm

RE: Why Does BA Use Only 1 Jetway?

Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:51 am

Cheaper? As long as the passengers travelling in the 'upper classes' get onboard/off first, I'd imagine it doesn't matter.
 
02hilliert
Posts: 474
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:52 pm

RE: Why Does BA Use Only 1 Jetway?

Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:07 pm

Presumably, they only use one jetway, because there is only 1 per gate?

I've known them to use two airbridges at airports where there are 2 per gate, but obviously at T5 they can't use 2 jetbridges because there is only the one... Simple!
Next Up: Back to the US - Charlotte & Kansas City
 
YXD172
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:38 am

RE: Why Does BA Use Only 1 Jetway?

Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:44 pm

I assume he's asking because T5 was really built for BA, so I'm guessing it's a mix of it being cheaper and them having long enough turn-around times for the second Jetway not to make a difference in aircraft utilization. If the plan is going to be at the gate for long enough to turn with one Jetway either way, why spend more to get two?

Just my 2 cents (CAD, so maybe 1.5 cents €!)
Radial engines don't leak oil, they are just marking their territory!
 
scrappy27
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:18 pm

RE: Why Does BA Use Only 1 Jetway?

Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:51 pm

actually T5B has about 2 stands that do have 2 jettys... there will also be a few in T5C to accomodate the A380..
BA's policy is to use a single jetty for boarding out of LHR.... but can vary at outstations...
As a crew member is does create a bit of chaos boarding and disembarking at 2 doors.. as inevitably some passengers take the wrong jetty and creates a traffic jam on board during boarding... also creates even more chaos on particular aircraft types such as the Mid J 747 with the WT+ cabin aft of doors 1.... First and Club are advised to board thru door 1 left and WT+ through door 2 left.... can you see the chaos??? (WT+ get on and turn left at D2L... Club get on and turn right at D1L)
Usually its easier to get the right hand side of the aircraft to disembark at D1L and the left side at D2L when there are 2 jettys.... but the look on some passengers faces on the right hand side when they want to cut thru and exit earlier.... it's like you're asking for blood!?
 
jgw787
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 3:26 pm

RE: Why Does BA Use Only 1 Jetway?

Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:28 pm

Quoting scrappy27 (Reply 4):

Yes I can see that...I admit that I do give dirty looks too  .

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests