e38
Topic Author

Spanish Translation

Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:24 am

For our Spanish-speaking A.Netters:

I have been studying Spanish for a few years but have not found a good translation for "Flight Attendant." Here is what I have been told (the source of the information is in parenthesis):

1. Azafata (from a Spanish textbook used in high school)
2. Auxiliar (from an Iberia flight attendant)
3. Sobrecargo (from a Mexicana flight attendant)
3. Asistente de Vuelo (from the back of a Delta Air Lines safety card).

Which is correct and in which part of the Spanish-speaking world is it used (Spain, South America, Mexico/Central America)? Are there any other translations?

Also, I have heard two terms for pilot--piloto and ejecutivo. Are both correct?

Thank you. Muchas Gracias para las informaciones y de ayudarme.

e38

Coal

RE: Spanish Translation

Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:13 am

I remember from my days living and traveling to Colombia they were just called Azafata (stewardess) and Asistente de Vuelo (mostly for the male F/As, which weren't comon back then).

I just called them "Ingeniero/a de comfort de vuelo"    After all, isn't that what they will end up being called in English?

Cheers
Coal
Nxt Flts: 3K SIN-HKT-SIN | CA SIN-CTU-SIN | SQ SIN-FRA | LH FRA-TXL-FRA | SQ FRA-SIN | SQ SIN-PVG-SIN

Aeroflot001

Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:20 pm

In Argentina i have heard the usage of Azafata and Auxiliar equally so both are correct. I hadnever heard the expression Sobrecargo beofer, interesting.

chepos

Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:36 pm

I have always refered to f/a's as asistente de vuelo or azafatas (females only). Never ever have I refered toa f/a as an auxiliar.

Regards,

Chepos
Fly the Flag!!!!

OP3000

Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:05 pm

Azafata is still the most widely used term by the public for female flight attendants (the equivalent to stewardess - though more politically correct in Spanish). Otherwise it's "asistente de vuelo" or "auxiliar de vuelo".