FlyingHollander
Topic Author
Posts: 300
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:50 pm

Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:37 pm

My dad has just received his itinerary for his flights coming home from work the 24th. He is flying on LA0754 from SCL arriving at GRU at 19:15 and KL 0792 departing GRU at 21:05. This struck me as odd as I am not aware of any cooperation between LAN and KLM. I'm wondering now if he will have to check himself and his bag in again at GRU, leaving him with little time. Also I have heard that the queue at immigration can be very long. Could someone please give some insight?
If it ain't Dutch, it ain't much.
 
dstc47
Posts: 1252
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 1999 3:53 am

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:16 pm

Took me two hours to clear immigration there, - that was early in the morning however.

Lots in the queue missed connections, with no special concessions for transit passengers in evidence, just chaos and lack of concern by staff. Hope your father fares better.
 
reifel
Posts: 1534
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:53 pm

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:19 pm

He should try to get his bags checked through, even if he flies on two tickets. Furthermore he should check in for his connecting flight online.
 
FlyingHollander
Topic Author
Posts: 300
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:50 pm

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:16 pm

Thank you both for the replies. I'll tell him definitely to check in online and ask them to check his bags through. I don't think he can convince his company to change his flights, so he'll have to hope he makes it as I don't think there are many (if any) other options to get back home that day.
If it ain't Dutch, it ain't much.
 
reifel
Posts: 1534
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:53 pm

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:35 pm

If it's a through fare then the airline will take care of the rebooking if he misconnex, but if it's two tickets then indeed he will not be able to make any changes without paying the applicable fees.
Indeed, a through fare with LA/KL seems strange, but is actually not impossible... Once I booked a ticket for a customer with LH from FRA to SCL and the routing was with LH to EZE and then with Sky (!!) to SCL. Til that point I didn't even knew that LH and Sky cooperated for flying beyond LH destinations.
He can see if it's a through fare by looking in the fare calculation of the ticket. If the receipt shows something like "SCL LA X/SAO KL AMS [an amount]" it would be a through fare while something like "SCL LA SAO [amount] KL AMS [amount]" would be two different fares priced on one ticket.
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:07 pm

I think most airlines in fact can sell you a ticket on most other airlines in the world, through some sort of cooperation (of which I forget the name.... interline?) however this is different from codesharing. I've never done it... I think it's often, if not always, cheaper to buy separate tickets in this case.
 
FlyingHollander
Topic Author
Posts: 300
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:50 pm

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:06 pm

Quoting reifel (Reply 4):
If it's a through fare then the airline will take care of the rebooking if he misconnex,

It IS a through fare. However, you say "the airline will take care....". Which airline then? LA of KL?
If it ain't Dutch, it ain't much.
 
reifel
Posts: 1534
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:53 pm

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:21 pm

Although I'm not 100% sure, I would say it's the carrier offering the fare. A through fare is similar to a codeshare. KL needs a partner to get their guests to a place beyond their own destionations, and therefore take LA as partner. Therefore if LA does something wrong KL will take care of that, as they sold the whole thing and also issued the ticket. Could be that this would be solved differently at the airport, but this is what I would tell to KL if they turn me away if I miss my connexion.
 
LJ
Posts: 4103
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 1999 8:28 pm

RE: Connecting At GRU From LAN To KLM

Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:27 pm

Quoting FlyingHollander (Thread starter):
This struck me as odd as I am not aware of any cooperation between LAN and KLM

It´s not so strange. It´s just the usual interline ticket (not everbody travels on the same airline/alliance all the way to their final destination). The same when you travel JJ from GRU to AMS, the final leg (CDG-AMS) is on AF or KL) or KL from AMS to SYD via SIN (SIN-SYD on QF).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests