flying-b773
Topic Author
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2001 11:24 pm

Transit In SFO

Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:56 pm

Hi fellow US/SFO members,

Good evening. I would like to ask on transit procedures in SFO.

I would be arriving from HKG on SQ and am thinking of hopping onto UA to LAS.
Do i have to clear immigration, or can i connect between flights in the airside? It would be 2 different tickets.
If i have to clear immigration, the choice of WN opens up too.

Thank you in advance for any reply, appreciate it!

Brgds,
 
User avatar
SFOA380
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 4:35 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:59 pm

You would definitely need to clear customs at SFO. Happy travels!
 
alggag
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 6:34 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:02 am

All passengers are required to clear immigration when they arrive into the US regardless of whether they are connecting or not.
 
B747forever
Posts: 12855
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:50 pm

RE: Transit In SFO

Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:33 am

One has always to clear US immigration at the first port of entry into the US.


Around what time does your SQ flight arrive?

A couple of months ago I flew CDG-SFO with an arrival around 1.30pm and the lines for immigration were really long. Took me close to 40 minutes to clear US customs, and I could only imagine how long it would take for the non-US citizens. I would at least allow 3 hours between the flights.


Also, pick WN, your bags will fly for free  .
Work Hard, Fly Right
 
heysfo
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:31 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:59 pm

From the internationals terminal you have to clear customers and immigration and then you can walk to the terminals , WN Ter 1 is farther out UA is closer I believe a 5-10 min walk from the Int'l Ter. and VX is an option as well in the band new Terminal 2 which is worth the visit
 
User avatar
legacyins
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2003 1:11 pm

RE: Transit In SFO

Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:07 pm

Quoting B747forever (Reply 3):
Around what time does your SQ flight arrive?

SQ 2 is scheduled to arrive at 2035 hrs into the G - Int'l Terminal.
 
roseflyer
Posts: 9606
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 9:34 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:12 pm

You will clear immigration, collect your baggage and clear customs. If you are on an airline that interlines with SQ (which in this case would be UA), you can have your bags through checked and put them on the connecting baggage transfer belt and there is no fee. SQ should be able to do this even on separate tickets, however if they cannot tag the bag to LAS, then you have to pay bag fees.

You have the choice of UA, WN, or VX. VX has the best service, although you'd pay bag fees since I don't think SQ can through check a bag on VX unlike UA.
If you have never designed an airplane part before, let the real designers do the work!
 
StarAC17
Posts: 3400
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:54 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:44 pm

Quoting flying-b773 (Thread starter):
I would be arriving from HKG on SQ and am thinking of hopping onto UA to LAS.
Do i have to clear immigration, or can i connect between flights in the airside? It would be 2 different tickets.
If i have to clear immigration, the choice of WN opens up too

Yes to immigration as your UA leg would be domestic, in the US you have to clear immigration regardless even if your destination isn't in the US.

Since SQ and UA are in *A it is possible to get it on the same ticket. If it is then you will have to claim your bags in SFO and re-check them but the tag will be checked through to LAS so you just put it on the re-check belt.

Even if you do it in 2 tickets the bags can be interlined most likely and you will have to get your boarding pass at UA check in after immigration. Be warned if your bags are checked through then you will not be able to board a WN flight and move the bags easily.

Quoting B747forever (Reply 3):
Also, pick WN, your bags will fly for free  .

They will also on UA if interlined through, airlines follow the baggage rules of the first carrier on the ticket you initially check in with.
Engineers Rule The World!!!!!
 
B747forever
Posts: 12855
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:50 pm

RE: Transit In SFO

Sat Aug 18, 2012 7:20 am

Quoting StarAC17 (Reply 7):
They will also on UA if interlined through, airlines follow the baggage rules of the first carrier on the ticket you initially check in with.



Even though they are book separately?
Work Hard, Fly Right
 
xjramper
Posts: 2318
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 1:10 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:08 pm

Yes, just so long as the two carriers you fly have an interline agreement, you may provide the SQ check-in agent with your continuing flight info. Just make sure you have a printed itinerary directly from the carrier's website. It works both ways.
Look ma' no hands!
 
StarAC17
Posts: 3400
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:54 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:41 pm

Quoting B747forever (Reply 8):
Even though they are book separately?

Yes, the only way UA is going to charge you if you check your bag a UA desk. Also IIRC on some US airlines that have bag fees for the first bag will waive them if you are connecting on a codeshare partner that is a long haul flight.

From UA's website.

Quote:
Note: Baggage allowances for codeshare partners or another airline may be different. If your flight originates with one of our codeshare partners or another airline you will need to check with that carrier for baggage policies.​
Engineers Rule The World!!!!!
 
B747forever
Posts: 12855
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:50 pm

RE: Transit In SFO

Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:56 am

Quoting xjramper (Reply 9):
Quoting StarAC17 (Reply 10):



I didnt know that. Being two separate itineraries I thought UA would charge for the bag.
Work Hard, Fly Right
 
StarAC17
Posts: 3400
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:54 am

RE: Transit In SFO

Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:06 am

Quoting B747forever (Reply 11):
I didnt know that. Being two separate itineraries I thought UA would charge for the bag.

No because you are not checking the bag with UA. Now if UA said to its partners do not interline with 2 itineraries then you would have to pay but that would be a logistical nightmare to implement and would cost them business.
Engineers Rule The World!!!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests