777sigfan

787 First Impressions

Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:08 pm

Well here goes my 1st attempt at a post. I have been creeping around the site for about 2 years and decided to join up. Alot of very knowledgeable folks out there and I hope to learn a ton from you anywho......

Caught the 787 from DEN to IAH yesterday and though I would give my impressions of the plane and the flight.

Side View: Approaching from the side it likes not unlike an Embraer as some have pointed out. It is a good looking plane in my opinion and I love the wing on it, it just goes and goes and goes to a little point.

Front View: WOW......She is a little rotund, could almost be mistaken for the A380's little brother. Was not expecting this at all, I knew it was a widebody but I did not think it was that big around. Pulling up some data on my phone I realized that it is only about a foot smaller in diameter than a 777.

Inside: Very nice inside, the new Boeing interior is fantastic and I like the soft blue lighting. I was in Y as I am a recently graduated broke college student who is still very much broke so no upgrades for me  . The footrests are a nice touch and the gigantic windows are nice as well. Now for the biggest improvement.......the noise! My god is that thing quiet! You can sit and have a conversation with the person right next to you in a normal tone! Noise cancelling headphones would almost be an unnecessary redundancy and oh man I could get use to this on long haul flights. I am sure this is going to be an international bird here soon, but having a decent variety of movies and tv shows was kind of nice even though the flight was less than 2 hours.

All in all it was a great experience and I look forward to riding on this plane for the next couple of decades, hopefully in business as I do not want to be a broke ex-college student for long  . It is a fantastic step in aviation!

planeguy727

RE: 787 First Impressions

Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:59 pm