User avatar
WildcatYXU
Topic Author
Posts: 2610
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 2:05 pm

Connecting At ORD T5 UAX To LO

Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:39 pm

I have an YXU-ORD-WAW-RZE flight booked for the summer. I'm connecting from UA5508 to LO4 at T5. Since I never done a similar connection, I don't know what to expect and therefore I have a few questions:

1. Do have to collect my baggage for customs and then place it on the connections belt, or will they simply transfer it to LO4?
2. Do I have to clear security after immigration and customs?
3. Is there a *A lounge at T5?

All answers are appreciated.
310, 319, 320, 321, 333, 343, 345, 346, 732, 735, 73G, 738, 744, 752, 762, 763, 77L, 77W, 788, AT4, AT7, BEH, CR2, CRA, CR9, DH1, DH3, DH4, E75, E90, E95, F28, F50, F100, Saab 340, YAK40
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: Connecting At ORD T5 UAX To LO

Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:50 pm

Quoting WildcatYXU (Thread starter):
or will they simply transfer it to LO4?

For sure, they won't. You're entering the States, and you'll likely have to take it upstairs to the LO check-in desk. There might be a connections belt, but I won't speak about "LOT"'s usage of it, cause I don't know.

Quoting WildcatYXU (Thread starter):
Do I have to clear security after immigration and customs?

Yes. Of course you will. The US doesn't trust Canadian security (don't get me wrong, you pretty much have to go through security at T5 in the vast majority of cases).

Quoting WildcatYXU (Thread starter):
Is there a *A lounge at T5?

I'm pretty sure some *A carrier has a lounge there.
 
planeguy727
Posts: 1054
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:58 am

RE: Connecting At ORD T5 UAX To LO

Sat Jan 25, 2014 12:29 am

*A offers a lounge finder tool on the website - http://www.staralliance.com/en/benefits/status-benefits/lounge-finder/
I want to live in an old and converted 727...
 
RyanairGuru
Posts: 6554
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:59 am

RE: Connecting At ORD T5 UAX To LO

Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:51 am

There's an SAS lounge in T5 which you would be able to enter presuming that you are Star Gold

As YXU isn't pre-cleared you will have to go through immigration, customs, collect bags and re-drop it. Presuming that your bags are tagged through to WAW then you will be able to drop at the transfer counter. And yes you will have to go through immigration.
Worked Hard, Flew Right
 
User avatar
WildcatYXU
Topic Author
Posts: 2610
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 2:05 pm

RE: Connecting At ORD T5 UAX To LO

Sat Jan 25, 2014 3:06 pm

Thanks guys. I knew I'll have to clear immigration, I just wasn't sure about the luggage and security. I have *G status, so the lounge access won't be a problem. The lounge finder that Planeguy727 has posted shows a LX longe and a contracted LO/TK lounge in addition to the SAS lounge. Which one could be the best?
310, 319, 320, 321, 333, 343, 345, 346, 732, 735, 73G, 738, 744, 752, 762, 763, 77L, 77W, 788, AT4, AT7, BEH, CR2, CRA, CR9, DH1, DH3, DH4, E75, E90, E95, F28, F50, F100, Saab 340, YAK40
 
dc10co
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:41 am

RE: Connecting At ORD T5 UAX To LO

Sat Jan 25, 2014 10:45 pm

Quoting dc9northwest (Reply 1):
Yes. Of course you will. The US doesn't trust Canadian security (don't get me wrong, you pretty much have to go through security at T5 in the vast majority of cases).

The US absolutely does, there are multiple preclear cities in Canada. When these flights arrive in the US it is just like connecting off of a domestic flight. YXU just doesn't happen to be one of those cities.
Listen Betty, don't start up with your white zone shit again.
 
dc9northwest
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:33 am

RE: Connecting At ORD T5 UAX To LO

Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:16 am

Quoting DC10CO (Reply 5):
The US absolutely does, there are multiple preclear cities in Canada. When these flights arrive in the US it is just like connecting off of a domestic flight. YXU just doesn't happen to be one of those cities.

You still gotta pass through security even if you come from a preclearance city into ORD. You'll just arrive at T1/T2, take the train to T5 and then pass through security to get to your LO flight in T5.

But yes, that statement was a bit sarcastic, considering the security obsession.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 14 guests