franklyn
Topic Author

FSDO appointment for illegibility to test.

Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:11 am

Hi everyone .
Please I need to get some information.
I am new to America I just came from Africa this last December and I am kind of not well informed as to how to go on with the conversion of my A and P license.

I studied Airframe and powerplant in Royal Jordanian Air Academy which I did my on the job training so I have A and P license .
In addition to that I worked in my country for two (2) years on b737 and b777 as line maintenance mechanic. Having relocated to join my wife who is already here as a citizen.

I called the office which the receiver asked me to get prepared and schedule an appointment but as you know , I need to be well informed before doing that
So having stated the facts I need some advice so as to know what to expect .
Thanks .

Apprentice

Re: FSDO appointment for illegibility to test.

Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:15 am

Hi:
Question will be: Which Authority issued your A&P license?
If FAA, You only have to change your address. For that, You may use an webpage link to your local FSDO.
If your license was issued from another Authority, last I check, there was no way to “convert” it to a FAA A&P, and You will have to get from FAA’s clerk an authorization to take first 3ea written examinations and them Aural- Practical, with an FAA’s Designated Mechanic Examinator. Form to receive from FAA clerk, will be an 8610-2..
This form is normally issued after finishing a dedicated school (like AMT) or, in Your case, based on experience.
For that You have to show Your currently A&P license and any other documentation that support Your’s previous activity, like Reference Letters (with contacts phone numbers) and or Training Certificates,...

About fees, if You have an US’s Green Card, no fee on 8610-2. If not, about $100.00
Examination fees, depend on arrange You make.
(11 yrs ago, I took written for $100 ea and Theoretical-Aurals for $ 1 000, total)