XXXX10
Topic Author

Route Direct

Wed Feb 27, 2002 3:24 am

Can any pilots tell me the furthest direct routing they have been given, i have read of aircraft given direct routings of nearly a thousand miles-can anyone top that

thanks

donder10

RE: Route Direct

Wed Feb 27, 2002 3:59 am

I have heard routings of around 700 miles at like 3/4 am for EL Al/AC flights

ramper@iah

Wed Feb 27, 2002 4:23 am

I've been given a heading from Saginaw, MI (MBS) direct to Waco, TX (ACT). I don't know how far it is, but its the longest one I've ever gotten.

N400QX

Wed Feb 27, 2002 5:01 am

Not that I am a pilot (yet-- hehe), I listen to ATC quite a bit and I hear lots of American flights get "direct DFW" clearance from Seattle Center once they've got past the mountain. That is just one off the top of my head...

Lubicon

Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:34 am

I once heard a business jet get cleared direct to Tulsa from Calgary once he informed ATC he was GPS equipped. Distance is 1365 miles.

timz

Wed Feb 27, 2002 7:59 am

I haven't listened to the transcon red-eyes out of SFO lately-- but I once heard Oakland Center clear an SFO-JFK flight direct to Wilkes-Barre. That doesn't happen in the daytime.

ZID

Wed Feb 27, 2002 11:47 am

You name it, you got it. If it is between small airports then it doesn't matter. Coming off of Newport News, Virginia going to Redding, California you can get direct anytime that you want just as soon as you enter Indy center airspace. The larger airports out west we usually aren't allowed to go direct past the last fix in Kansas City center airspace during the day, so Garden City, Kansas or Liberal, Kansas are about as far as we can go. Going into the busy east coast corridor they usually don't clear them direct past Indy center just because we have to get them on preferrential routes prior to entering Washington or Cleveland centers. Everything on the east coast is very regimented into corridors.