shaun3000

Taxiing, Takeoff, Landing On First Student Flight

Tue May 21, 2002 12:48 pm

What are your experiences with your first training flight? Specifically, did any of you taxi, takeoff, or land on your own on your VERY FIRST training flight?

I ask as I started my PPL training, today. I've had no experience except computer flight simulators. My instructor had me taxi, takeoff and, after I jokingly asked, land the airplane. ALl went flawlessly. Taxiing was ungainly, but fine once I got the hang of the toe brakes. Take off was a breeze, with my first two maneuvers as a pilot being rotation and a climbing, left turn on departure.

Finally, on approach I was joking with the instructor and asked if he wanted me to land it for him. He said I could do it if I wanted to, which I did, with imput from him on power settings and flap configurations... I stuck the landing, on the centerline, between the numbers and IFR aiming point... According the my instructor, he's never had anyone do as well as that on their first landing, let alone their first FLIGHT. He was quite impressed, to say the least.

This was at Addison Airport (KADS) in Dallas, by the way.

How unusual is this? I wasn't even expecting to taxi or take off, today, let alone LAND the plane!

XFSUgimpLB41X

RE: Taxiing, Takeoff, Landing On First Student Flight

Tue May 21, 2002 1:58 pm

As an instructor... I always let the student taxi and takeoff the airplane. There has been only one person who didnt want to takeoff the airplane their first time. Also, i generally dont let them do the first approach/landing unless they ask.... there have also been occasions where someone catches on so fast or has flown before and i'll let them do the first landing- of course while im riding the controls and talking them through it, with slight control help to guide the airplane into the right position.