AA777
Topic Author
Posts: 2358
Joined: Thu May 20, 1999 7:07 am

BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 1:22 am

I was in Rhodes earlier this year, and I saw a BAE 146 jetliner... I was very surprised when I saw it b/c it has 4 engines. I dont know, but it seems that to put four engines on a smaller plane like that is wasteful... I know if it wasnt worth it, then the airlines would not purchase them, but could anyone name some reasons why Airlines choose the 146 with 4 engines vs. the similar model with two larger ones.

Thanks!
-AA777
 
ual777contrail
Posts: 2914
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2002 11:33 am

RE: BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 1:26 am

i was always told that it was for power getting out of airports with small runways.i could be wrong but that is my guess.
such as airports like ski resorts and such.

ual 777 contrail
 
wingscrubber
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2001 1:38 am

RE: BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 5:05 am

Four small engines are quieter than two big ones, it's a city plane.

Pete
Resident TechOps Troll
 
GDB
Posts: 12652
Joined: Wed May 23, 2001 6:25 pm

RE: BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 7:41 am

 
TAA_Airbus
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 1999 4:34 pm

RE: BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 12:36 pm

4 APUs  Smile


Lots in Australia. I must admit, I think its a good plane, unfortunately, it doesnt perform very well in the hot australian climate. Which is its downfall.
 
jetdoctor
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2001 2:16 pm

RE: BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 12:39 pm

Actually 5 APU's, the fifth one is hidden (and actually is one)

RT
Break ground, and head into the wind. Don't break wind and head into the ground.
 
AJ
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:54 pm

RE: BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 3:35 pm

The original HS/BAe blurb stated that the reason it has four engines is that there is no room for six.
 
TAA_Airbus
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 1999 4:34 pm

RE: BAE 146

Fri Aug 09, 2002 6:39 pm

BAe=Bring another Engine

The first ones that got bought out to australia couldnt handle the hot conditions and actually burnt out engine cores in about 100 hours........or some insane low number like that.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests