RickB

Can Any Aircraft Catch Concorde?

Sat Sep 14, 2002 8:02 am

Something I have been wondering for a while, especially since the retirement a number of years ago of Kelly Johnson's SR71, is there a military (cant think of any civilian) aircraft that could actually chase down and catch Concorde?

I know aircraft like the F15 and Mig 25/31 have higher top speeds but it is well known that they can only sustain that kind of speed for a few minutes given that they have to run on afterburners the whole time, so my question is this, unless they where patrolling, waiting for it, is there any aircraft out there that can catch Concorde?

RickB

timz

RE: Can Any Aircraft Catch Concorde?

Sat Sep 14, 2002 8:16 am

Ha! Good question. So you mean, if the F-15 is sitting on the runway as the Concorde passes at FL570 Mach 2, can the F-15 fly formation with it? Getting off a shot at it with a missile doesn't count as "catching", right?

Sounds unlikely, but I'm no expert. Can a heavy-with-fuel F-15 get past Mach 2 at all?

RickB

Sat Sep 14, 2002 8:29 am

Timz,

Yup thats the question, although to be fair - if we say the same flight level but a couple of hundred miles away - could anything catch it ?

But you raise an interesting point - I know missiles fly fast, but how close would an F15 have to be to Concorde (flying at Mach2) to get a valid shot off? (i.e. close enough for the missile to make up the distance before running out of fuel?

RickB

timz

Sat Sep 14, 2002 8:40 am

Well, my question is can the F-15 catch it even if Concorde flies directly overhead. Still sounds tough to me.

Jj

Sat Sep 14, 2002 8:41 am

I'd think it'd have to be not too far, as the missile would probably take some time to catch up.

GDB

Sat Sep 14, 2002 2:00 pm

Depends on the missile, no real long range ones around since the US Navy has pretty much retired the AIM-54 Phoenix on the F-14.