BR715-A1-30
Topic Author
Posts: 6525
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 9:30 am

DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:19 am

I was looking at Cockpit Photos of the DC9, and I saw how some of the Throttle Levers were Different from the others. Are the smaller ones the DC9s that DO NOT have Auto-Throttle, and are the larger ones WITH Auto-Throttle?


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Ryan Gaddis - SPOT THIS!

Is this a DC9 with Auto-Throttle?

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Andreas Loecken

Is this a DC9 without Auto-Throttle?
Puhdiddle
 
ERFly
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 12:47 pm

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Tue Nov 19, 2002 11:43 am

I wasn't aware any DC-9s had auto-throttles.
 
FBU 4EVER!
Posts: 980
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2001 6:53 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Tue Nov 19, 2002 8:07 pm

To me the throttle handles appear to me to be standard DC-9 throttles.In the lower photo,the thrust reverse levers have been raised out of their normal forward and down position.
Yes,the DC-9 "Classic" has autothrottles.Well,sort of,that is.The small lever with the yellow knob just to the left of the throttles is the auto throttle "on-off" lever.All it did was to keep ref. speed during an approach,no fancy stuff like retard or anything else.
"Luck and superstition wins all the time"!
 
bio15
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2001 8:10 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Wed Nov 20, 2002 10:38 am

FBU, BR715-A1-30 is correct, the lower picture shows smaller throttle 'knobs'. This is a DC-9-10. That's pretty old! Maybe they just made the knobs a little wider afterwards for pilot comfort. Just a thought

-Alfredo
 
BR715-A1-30
Topic Author
Posts: 6525
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 9:30 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Wed Nov 20, 2002 10:50 am

I noticed that Northwest's DC9-10s have the wider throttles. Did NW add this feature?
Puhdiddle
 
FBU 4EVER!
Posts: 980
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2001 6:53 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Wed Nov 20, 2002 1:14 pm

Well,maybe there's a slight difference in width.
The -21's,-33F's and -41's I flew for SAS all had the wider throttles,and many of our oldest -41's are still with NW.
"Luck and superstition wins all the time"!
 
jetskipper
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 1:50 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:57 pm

None of Southwests' 737 have autothrottles
 
bio15
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2001 8:10 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Thu Nov 21, 2002 4:52 am

None of Southwest's 737s have autothrottles??

That's a weird statement.

-Alfredo
 
MD88Captain
Posts: 1224
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 9:50 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Thu Nov 21, 2002 5:29 am

I think it is more correct to say that SWA airplanes have unused autothrottles. SWA pilots don't get to use autothrottles or autobrakes for that matter. Those systems are disabled. If they are disabled they can't break.
 
BR715-A1-30
Topic Author
Posts: 6525
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 9:30 am

RE: DC9s Without Auto-Throttle

Thu Nov 21, 2002 8:42 am

Just to refresh some memorys, this is about DC9s Throttle levers, not 737's autothrottle.
Puhdiddle

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests