Guest

CPDLC Use

Sat Jan 18, 2003 5:47 am

Somebody of you know where the CPDLC are already used ?
 
CX Flyboy
Posts: 6026
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 1999 6:10 pm

CPDLC Use

Sat Jan 18, 2003 11:06 am

I is being used in quite a few areas around the world now. We log on 30mins prior to flight within Singapore airspace, and we use it across the Pacific and in oceanic Japanese airspace. The last time I flew the 744, we were trialling it in Australia, Hong Kong, and Mongolia. I think Australia continues to use it. Hong Kong has finished trials and no idea about Mongolia.
 
Ejazz
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed May 22, 2002 10:26 am

CPDLC Use

Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:14 pm

Here is where we use it with and without ADS.

Singapore CPDLC but no ADS
Australia CPDLC and ADS
Shanwick and Gander Trans-Atlantic ADS but no CPDLC.
New Zealand CPDLC and ADS
Japan Oceanic CPDLC and ADS
Oakland Oceanic ADS and CPDLC on trial
Anchorage ADS and no CPDLC if I remember
Trans-Pacific FIR after Auckland has CPDLC and ADS, might be Fiji.


Etihad Girl, You're a great way to fly.
 
AJ
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:54 pm

CPDLC Use

Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:51 pm

In addition:
Maastricht CPDLC
Yangon CPDLC testing
Kolkatta CPDLC testing
 
Ejazz
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed May 22, 2002 10:26 am

CPDLC Use

Sat Jan 18, 2003 2:20 pm

Hi AJ

I remember all States agreed to upgrade to CPDLC to allow its use across the Bay of Bengal but didn't Yangon then pull out instead opting to use the funds to upgrade its VHF and HF comms?

Kolkatta CPDLC has....supposedly....been on trial the last 16-18 months and has encouraged all aircraft to log on. To date I've not been able to nor has anyone else from this Airline. No-one is surprised.
Etihad Girl, You're a great way to fly.
 
AJ
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:54 pm

CPDLC Use

Sat Jan 18, 2003 4:11 pm

I've sucessfully logged on to Kolkatta, however I then had them on CPDLC, HF and VHF, all giving different commands! Time to log off about then! As for Yangon I understood that it was Australian aid money paying for the datalink.
 
Max Q
Posts: 5634
Joined: Wed May 09, 2001 12:40 pm

CPDLC Use

Sat Jan 18, 2003 4:30 pm

Continental is starting to use it on the 767 Transatlantic and is already doing so on the 777.
The best contribution to safety is a competent Pilot.
 
bio15
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2001 8:10 am

CPDLC Use

Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:18 am

I'm sorry, but what is the CPDLC?
 
JetCaptain
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 2:57 am

CPDLC Use

Sun Jan 19, 2003 5:16 am

Miami has also started trials ......

http://ffp1.faa.gov/tools/tools_cpdlc.asp

JC
 
Ejazz
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed May 22, 2002 10:26 am

CPDLC Use

Mon Jan 20, 2003 12:13 pm

Bio15

CPDLC stands for controller pilot datalink communications. ADS is automatic dependant surveillance.

Etihad Girl, You're a great way to fly.
 
leftwing
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:48 pm

CPDLC Use

Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:06 am

any one has pics of the system being used in the flt deck...
 
point8six
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:44 am

CPDLC Use

Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:30 am

CPDLC is used via the ATC selector button on the FMC-CDU (B744).
Yangon has used CPDLC for some time, but successful connection is variable!
 
PhilSquares
Posts: 3371
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 6:06 pm

CPDLC Use

Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:13 pm



Quoting Ejazz (Reply 4):
Kolkatta CPDLC has....supposedly....been on trial the last 16-18 months and has encouraged all aircraft to log on. To date I've not been able to nor has anyone else from this Airline. No-one is surprised.

Have had no problems using Kolkotta CPDLC. In addition Chennai is CPDLC able and normally works great. Yangoon is more sporadic with the log on usually successful but they have a tendency not to answer, just like on HF.

In addition, all of MEL center is CPDLC able and they use it to a great extent once you get into their airspace coming from SIN.
Fly fast, live slow
 
CosmicCruiser
Posts: 2049
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:01 am

CPDLC Use

Fri Sep 05, 2008 2:30 pm



Quoting Ejazz (Reply 2):
Shanwick and Gander Trans-Atlantic ADS but no CPDLC.

Shanwick does have CPDLC it's just Gander that's only ADS even though they supposedly have CPDLC it's not in use at the moment.

Also going from BOM - DXB you can use CPDLC/ADS with BOM ATC across the Gulf of Oman.
 
User avatar
Francoflier
Posts: 3702
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2001 12:27 pm

RE: Cpdlc Use

Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:16 am

Lanzhou (ZLLL) and Urumqi (ZWWW) in China also have CPDLC.

It is used on the Y1 airways that goes over the high ground with no VHF coverage.
So far, only a few airlines use that route as far as I know, due to the high terrain and enroute alternate restrictions.
I'll do my own airline. With Blackjack. And hookers. In fact, forget the airline.
 
CosmicCruiser
Posts: 2049
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:01 am

RE: Cpdlc Use

Sat Sep 06, 2008 2:19 pm



Quoting Francoflier (Reply 14):
It is used on the Y1 airways that goes over the high ground with no VHF coverage.
So far, only a few airlines use that route as far as I know, due to the high terrain and enroute alternate restrictions.

We use it as well as L-888 over China. There are specific "escape routes" to the alts that are updated at each waypoint for emergencies.
 
wilco737
Posts: 7279
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:21 am

RE: Cpdlc Use

Sat Sep 06, 2008 2:29 pm



Quoting CosmicCruiser (Reply 15):
L-888 over China

We don't have CPDLC installed so we don't use that airway Big grin

WILCO737 (MD11F)
 airplane 
 
CosmicCruiser
Posts: 2049
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:01 am

RE: Cpdlc Use

Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:19 pm



Quoting WILCO737 (Reply 16):
We don't have CPDLC installed so we don't use that airway

Too bad depending on what your dest. is. We shave off about 45 min. CDG-SFS. Plus you don't have to talk to anyone!! yes.
 
wilco737
Posts: 7279
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:21 am

RE: Cpdlc Use

Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:46 pm



Quoting CosmicCruiser (Reply 17):
Too bad depending on what your dest. is. We shave off about 45 min. CDG-SFS. Plus you don't have to talk to anyone!! yes.

Yep, I know. There are plans to install it because sooner or later it will be mandatory in the NAT airspace. But I don't know when.
but the system seems to be cool, been jumpseating on a A346 and I liked that system  thumbsup 

WILCO737 (MD11F)
 airplane 
 
113312
Posts: 583
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 9:09 am

RE: Cpdlc Use

Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:40 pm

Works really nice between the West Coast and Hawaii too. You log on, make one electronic position report and verify SELCAL on HF and that's about it for nearly four hours flying. You can get altitude changes and a handoff to the next controlling agency through the datalink.

Although it's a different program and means of communication, it looks very much like ACARS on the screens.
 
SilverComet
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:04 am

RE: Cpdlc Use

Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:32 pm

We use it in Antananarivo (FMMM) airspace and Mauritius (FIMM) airspace. Definitely much nicer than HF comms.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests