jhooper
Posts: 5560
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2001 8:27 pm

Max Altitude On Altimeter

Thu Feb 20, 2003 10:01 am

Of course, this probably depends on the model of altimeter we're talking about here, but above what altitude are most barometric altimeters no longer reliable. I was assume this is above the service cieling of most commercial airliners. But, for example, what altitude would the Space Shuttle's altimeter read in orbit, and what altitude does it cease giving reliable information?
Last year 1,944 New Yorkers saw something and said something.
 
shaun3000
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 4:10 pm

RE: Max Altitude On Altimeter

Thu Feb 20, 2003 12:29 pm

Altimeters are rated to a certain altitude. FOr example, in one of the small planes i fly, the altimer is rated to, I believe, 20,000'. The rated altitude is uaully on the face of the altimeter. Above that altitude it will no longer give accurate readings. It may be close, but not within the mandated FAA limits.

It varies for all altimeters. There isn't one standard altitude. It jsut depends on the model.
 
jhooper
Posts: 5560
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2001 8:27 pm

RE: Max Altitude On Altimeter

Thu Feb 20, 2003 12:30 pm

Ok; thanks Shaun3000.
Last year 1,944 New Yorkers saw something and said something.
 
dc10hound
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 4:18 pm

RE: Max Altitude On Altimeter

Fri Feb 21, 2003 1:04 am

During a air data static system leak check, the A300 AMM tells you not to exceed limits of 1050mb and 115 mb.

We were performing air data system check one day, and got distracted by other events on the flight deck. Next thing we knew, the Captain's altimeter had rolled up to and stuck at 50,000 feet. It would rise no further.

As a precaution, we changed the altimeter and ADC1 for service "above" and beyond the call of duty....
"Eagles soar. But weasels never get sucked into jet intakes.."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 4 guests