goboeing
Posts: 2429
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2000 5:31 am

Airbus Automation Question

Wed Mar 24, 2004 3:17 am

Today I heard a story from someone. It was about an A-320 that came into an airport (BDL is what they said), landed, taxiied to the gate, and could not get the engines to shut down. They tried everything they could and they sat there for an hour. Apparently after a while, someone figured out that the problem was that they had set the altimeter incorrectly and the plane "thought it was in the air."

I have two questions. First, did this particular story actually happen? And would it really not let the pilot shut the engines down if the altimeters were set wrong? It seems to me like there's many other things the plane would use to determine if it's on the ground, like radar altimeter and sensors on the landing gear.

Second, can anyone explain some other interesting little Airbus computer quirks like this one (besides the whole flight envelope protection system)?

Thanks.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Paul Leach
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Jake



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Richard Barsby



Nick
 
avt007
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2000 4:51 am

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Wed Mar 24, 2004 3:31 am

I`ve never worked on an Airbus, but I`ll tell you this story is bull for two reasons: First, altimeter settings have nothing to do with air/ground sensing. Second, if the a/c thought it was in the air, (and it does happen) what happens if you need to do an inflight shutdown? The ability to shut down an engine is basic, and wouldn't be disabled in any way.

[Edited 2004-03-23 19:32:31]
 
zak
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 12:17 pm

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:55 am

i think thats the usual airbus bashing in line with the "you need special tools for an airbus while you can fix a boeing with stuff from the hardware store" myths.

(above is actually the other way around everywhere in the world but the u.s., since airbus uses metric and boeing imperial measurements.)
10=2
 
buckfifty
Posts: 1278
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2001 4:05 pm

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:35 am

Once the engine masters are switched off, the engines will switch off (or at the very least, the fuel should be cut anyway). Ground, air, or god forbid, water...
 
n685fe
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:01 am

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Thu Mar 25, 2004 1:10 am

Zak
"i think thats the usual airbus bashing in line with the "you need special tools for an airbus while you can fix a boeing with stuff from the hardware store" myths.

(above is actually the other way around everywhere in the world but the u.s., since airbus uses metric and boeing imperial measurements.) "

What are you talking about, can you give examples? The only metric item I can think of is the knob set screw on some of the radios. There seems to be another, I don't remember right now. Overall you can take apart an Airbus with the same tools you could take apart a Boeing with. (a big hammer and a cutting torch)
psp. lead by example
 
UTA_flyinghigh
Posts: 6304
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 8:46 pm

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Thu Mar 25, 2004 1:23 am

The only metric item I can think of is the knob set screw on some of the radios.
The round thingy ?

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © William Ronciere


I fail to see how that can be metric or imperial ?!?

UTA, confused.
Fly to live, live to fly - Air France/KLM Flying Blue Platinum, BMI Diamond Club Gold, Emirates Skywards
 
n685fe
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:01 am

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Thu Mar 25, 2004 2:51 am

...the knob SET SCREW... It is an allen screw used to secure the knob to the post.
psp. lead by example
 
SlamClick
Posts: 9576
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 7:09 am

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Thu Mar 25, 2004 12:18 pm

The event may have happened but the reason given is certainly not correct. Actually it is not all that uncommon to have the plane think it is still in the air - in some area, but not overall. Some marker was missed, so you get to the gate and shut down and still do not have ON and IN times recorded or something like that. But unable to shut down the engines - some other reason.

The only fix on the Airbus is [CTRL] [ALT] + [DEL]

Or pull the appropriate circuit breaker and wait for about thirty seconds.

Happiness is not seeing another trite Ste. Maarten photo all week long.
 
zak
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 12:17 pm

RE: Airbus Automation Question

Thu Mar 25, 2004 12:27 pm

"What are you talking about, can you give examples? The only metric item I can think of is the knob set screw on some of the radios. There seems to be another, I don't remember right now. Overall you can take apart an Airbus with the same tools you could take apart a Boeing with. (a big hammer and a cutting torch)"

i cant since the information was from a big discussion in here done long ago and that was kind of the consensus of it. since it did make perfect sense to me i assumed it was correct. i do not know if modern boeing planes are made for metric tools but i do recall that they were originally using imperial measures for everything including the design of the plane. and since it seemed quite remote that airbus uses imperial system i figured that above information was absolutely correct. if you have any further information i would love to learn more about it.

best regards
10=2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Rexus and 8 guests