2H4
Topic Author

"Certified" Vs. "Certificated"

Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:29 pm

Awhile back, a friend of mine picked up my FAR/AIM, thumbed through it, and asked me why the term "certificated" is used. I didn't have an answer for him. How is the meaning any different from "certified"?

2H4

Intentionally Left Blank

flyf15

RE: "Certified" Vs. "Certificated"

Tue Jan 25, 2005 1:47 pm

Although I, by no means, am sure on this...I am going to guess that "certificated" refers directly to "a holder of an FAA certificate" whereas certified may be more ambigous.

But then again, I am only a certificated certified flight instructor  Big thumbs up

[Edited 2005-01-25 05:48:07]

SlamClick

Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:13 pm

I believe it to be grammatically correct.

certificated meaning "posessing a certificate"

whereas certified means something more like "endorsed authoritatively"

Anyway, the FAA tells me they don't certify anything, they issue certificates.

Pretty fine point, but that is the word they use.
Happiness is not seeing another trite Ste. Maarten photo all week long.

2H4
Topic Author

Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:50 pm

Anyway, the FAA tells me they don't certify anything, they issue certificates.

Ha, so no pilots are actually certified to fly airplanes....nor are the airplanes themselves certified to carry passengers. You could win some bar bets with flying buddies with that...

2H4
Intentionally Left Blank

Arrow

Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:51 pm

It's just another mindless butchery of the English language. The word is certified, and if you're certified you have a certificate. Certificated is one of those non-words that someone started using because it sounds more important -- and now it's become accepted usage and probably shows up in dictionaries. Sort of like discombobulated -- that's what happens to you when you get decertified.
Never let the facts get in the way of a good story.

air2gxs

Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:43 pm

Actually Arrow, I believe it is a transitive verb

In common usage: