User avatar
Ryan h
Topic Author
Posts: 1609
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2001 7:11 pm

Airstairs

Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:46 am

Do some 737s have built in airstairs? I thought DC-9s and 727s etc had them.


MyAviation.net photo:
Click here for bigger photo!
Photo © Martin Jakobsen

South Australian Spotter www.ryanhothersall.net
 
727EMflyer
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:22 am

RE: Airstairs

Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:16 am

You just posted a picture of one! The answer is yes. Some A320's have them too. There was a thread about this not too long ago, but I couldn't find it in the search. You don't hear much about them because of the proliferation of Jetways, and most are inoperable because the airliners choose not to maintain them (weight, money etc.).
 
SlamClick
Posts: 9576
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 7:09 am

RE: Airstairs

Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:35 am

Quoting 727EMflyer (Reply 1):
most are inoperable because the airliners choose not to maintain them (weight, money etc.).

Not just inoperable, but in most cases not installed at the factory. The space exists, the hard points and possible even wiring may be there, but the whole structure was left out.

Exception of course would be for those customers who know they are going to places without jetways, possibly even without boarding stairs.
Happiness is not seeing another trite Ste. Maarten photo all week long.
 
L-188
Posts: 29874
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 1999 11:27 am

RE: Airstairs

Tue Mar 15, 2005 11:59 am

Yes, depends if the airline spec'd for them.

Actually on the 737 there is the forward door that you see there, and then on combi aircraft there can be a door on the rear exit.

The doors function differently too. The one at the rear, the door is hindged at the bottom to form the top flight of stairs. As you can see on the forward door, it folds up and then retracts into the airframe below the door.
OBAMA-WORST PRESIDENT EVER....Even SKOORB would be better.
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Airstairs

Tue Mar 15, 2005 7:06 pm

Quoting L-188 (Reply 3):
Actually on the 737 there is the forward door that you see there, and then on combi aircraft there can be a door on the rear exit.

Unnecessary Complications in todays era.
 Smile

We used to have a lot of problems with the Sequencing circuit.
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
Santhosh
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2001 5:14 am

RE: Airstairs

Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:33 pm

Quoting HAWK21M (Reply 4):
We used to have a lot of problems with the Sequencing circuit.

Mel For what purpose is the sequencing circuit used there? Also where are the controls for extending and retracting the airstairs situated?

Regards
George
Happy Landings :)
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Airstairs

Tue Mar 15, 2005 11:14 pm

The Airstair on a B737 can be operated from Outside & from Inside provided Entry door is open by using 28vdc or 115vac.
There are Two optng systems involved Normal & Standby.
Standby is dc operated & has not safety swiches on the Handrails,hence if the Handrails are not stored properly it can lead to damage during retraction of the Airstair.
The Sequences involve Position/limit/sequence switches than allow each step to occur in sequence,starting from opening of the Airstair door to Extending of the Airstair.
The outside controls are below aft of the Air stair opening & the Inside control is above the Entry door cutout.
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
707CMF
Posts: 4698
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 5:39 pm

RE: Airstairs

Wed Mar 16, 2005 1:08 am

The question was asked some months ago, so I tried to snap a picture of those stairs being retracted :


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Antoine Ossadzow



Cheers,

707
 
amtrosie
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:44 am

RE: Airstairs

Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:17 am

As stated 737's have them installed during initial build, only if the customer requests. The 737 I maintain did not have them as original equip., so we went to the desert and found us a set and installed them. I know 717 have all the provisions for them, it just differed as to the customer wanting to take on the additional wt. penalties of the installed equipment. Some carriers have them, but choose to deactivate them.
 
L-188
Posts: 29874
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 1999 11:27 am

RE: Airstairs

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:05 am

Well here we go a photo of the rear airstair.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Brian Hames



Quoting HAWK21M (Reply 4):
Unnecessary Complications in todays era.

If may be complicated but I am sure in your neck of the woods there are places where having a plane that support itself is kind of handy.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tony Solis

OBAMA-WORST PRESIDENT EVER....Even SKOORB would be better.
 
citationjet
Posts: 2249
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 2:26 am

RE: Airstairs

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:58 am

Boeing Flown: 701,702,703;717;720;721,722;731,732,733,734,735,737,738,739;741,742,743,744,747SP;752,753;762,763;772,773.
 
aa757first
Posts: 3140
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 11:40 am

RE: Airstairs

Thu Mar 24, 2005 7:42 am

Why are the doors cracked as the stairs are being lowered?

Thanks,
AAndrew
 
IFIXCF6
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:06 pm

RE: Airstairs

Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:12 am

Aa757first,

Would you want even the possibilty of a flight if they were not properly stowed prior to door closure? I'm speaking DC9 series stowing of the airstairs, it's just my guess, and I can't speak with regards to the 737.

Mike
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: Airstairs

Thu Mar 24, 2005 7:29 pm

This is the Airbus compartment

A321- Chute compartment - the black square under number 2 door.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © R.Hesse
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Daniel Klein



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © R.Hesse
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © R.Hesse



Tom.
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Airstairs

Thu Mar 24, 2005 9:33 pm


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tony Solis


The Aft Airstair is a different Mechanism compared to the Fwd one.Did Alaska have both Installed.
Loading a Pallet with a Forklift.How tough is it.
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
L-188
Posts: 29874
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 1999 11:27 am

RE: Airstairs

Fri Mar 25, 2005 1:34 am

Technically no, but I do recall the BP and ARCO birds had them, Those where the airplanes owned by the oil companies that at the time Alaska provided the mx and ground support for.

I don't believe the -400's had them either, at least a few of the MD-80's did.

As far as the NG aircraft, those are before my time.
OBAMA-WORST PRESIDENT EVER....Even SKOORB would be better.
 
amtrosie
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:44 am

RE: Airstairs

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:30 am

The 37's have sequencing too. Can not open/close airstairs unless L-1 door open. However you can with ground control handle.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests