Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Sat Apr 16, 2005 2:03 pm

Today ERAU auctioned parts from the second 727 sim ever made, which was ex-TWA and donated to this school when TWA went belly up. I got myself the annunciator panel, and the hydraulic brake gauges. I juust wanted to know if any of you techies out there know how many volts I will need, and if its doable. I did this with an ADF a while ago, and the results were pretty nice.

Click on the thumbnails to make them larger

Front and rear of brake panel:



Front and rear of annunciator panel:


 
SkydrolBoy
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 7:31 am

RE: Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Sat Apr 16, 2005 3:31 pm

I'm pretty sure the annuciator panel will require 28VAC, I know for sure the APU light on the panel is 28VAC powered, so I'm assuming the rest of the lights on that panel require the same power. For the brake gauges I have no clue what power they require.
 
amtrosie
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:44 am

RE: Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Sat Apr 16, 2005 10:52 pm

What annunciator panel do you have? Some is 28 volts DC, some 28 volts AC an there are even 5 volt DC powered items.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Sun Apr 17, 2005 9:01 am

It's the one that says aft cargo, apu, fwd cargo, stuff like that. The biggest annunciator panel there is I think.

It is in the far right side of this picture:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Carsten Bauer



[Edited 2005-04-17 02:09:42]
 
air2gxs
Posts: 1443
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 1:29 pm

RE: Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Sun Apr 17, 2005 9:13 pm

Take this info with a big old grain of salt (due to effectivity issues) but if you apply 28VDC to pin 20 of the annuciator and apply the source ground to pin 19 and press the test button, you should get them all to light up. Applying the source ground to pin 21 (with 28VDC to pin 20) should eliminate the need for pressing the button.

Alternately, you can get individual lighths to light up by applying 28VDC to pin 21 and grounding individual pins. Some pins may cause a light to come on, some may not, depends on the internals. Carefule, all these light assemblies have non-replacable fuses and diodes.

For the indicators, ground pin 6 and apply 26VAC to pin 5 and you should get the internal lighting to work.

I can't tell you anything about the interconnect light, because the connector appears non standard, but the typical configuration for that type of base assy is:
lug 3 - test power (28VDC)
lug 1 - ground
lug 2 - sytem indication

In other words, if you apply 28VDC to lug 3 and ground lug 1 and then press the lens, the light should come on. Applying 28VDC to lug 2 and grounding lug 1 should illuminate the light without having to press the button. These lugs are located on the backside of the panel on the light itself.

For panel (plate) lighting, you'll have to experiment with that non-standard connector. You should be able to eliminate 3 of the pins by tracing the wires back from the green light assy. Then apply 28VAC to one of the remaining pins and ground another until you have the right combination.


All that being said, here's the disclaimer: THIS INFORMATION IS ONLY GOOD FOR OUR AIRPLANES WIRED PER OUR WIRING DIAGRAM. THE PARTS YOU HAVE MAY OR MAY NOT BE WIRED THIS WAY.

I'm mildly concerned with the non-standard connector, but it's your choice whether to apply power or not. Don't hurt yourself.
 
User avatar
Jetlagged
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:00 pm

RE: Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Mon Apr 18, 2005 10:21 am

You could use a lower voltage than 28VDC on the annunciators if that's what you have available. 12V or 24 V would be convenient to get from batteries. We routinely used 24VDC on aircraft parts in our simulator designs in an attempt to extend bulb life.
The glass isn't half empty, or half full, it's twice as big as it needs to be.
 
DeltaGuy
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 5:25 am

RE: Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:28 pm

So what was Riddle doing selling parts from a sim? Were they just tossing random parts they didn't need, or were they canabalizing the thing?

DeltaGuy
"The cockpit, what is it?" "It's the little room in the front of the plane where the pilot sits, but that's not importan
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Need Help: How To Make Old 727 Parts Light Up

Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:58 am

Thanks for the replies. When I did the same thing on an ADF a while ago, I used 12V and it worked fine.

@ DeltaGuy

We got a "new" (late 1980's) A320 sim. I think the 727 sims are being butchered. But I heard that if you want to pay for the shipping, you can take the whole thing home for free.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests