CALMSP
Topic Author

What Is This Ramper Doing?

Mon May 02, 2005 9:43 am

I'm not an expert on the airbus......only worked a few F9 birds....but what could this guy be doing during the engine starts in this position.

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Pete Bennett

I guess he could be shutting the door, but we typically dont push them this far for last minute bags becuase he is blocking November Kilo

Jamie757

RE: What Is This Ramper Doing?

Mon May 02, 2005 9:51 am

He's trying to lift the front so it's free of the tug!

Rgds
"I feel like a turkey who's just caught Bernard Matthews grinning at him!"

OPNLguy

Mon May 02, 2005 9:52 am

I'm no expert on the Airbii either, but had this been a 737, he'd be in the vicinity of the access door for the airconditioning hose (that's used while on the gate). Assuming Airbus has a similar door in a similar location, perhaps he was just checking it, or re-closing it. He looks too close to the aircraft centerline to be doing anything involving the cargo door, but I'm sure some Airbus folks will chime in with more authorative info...
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.

IAHTowTeam

Mon May 02, 2005 10:04 am

I am no expert at airbuses either, as I work for CO and we only have Boeing, however, it looks like he is closing the access panel door for the A/C. Just a well educated guess but just by a process of elemination, there could not be much else around that area he would have much else to do with.

Goldenshield

Mon May 02, 2005 10:26 am

That looks more like the location of the pneumatic duct connector used with an airstart cart.
Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.

CALMSP
Topic Author

Mon May 02, 2005 10:29 am

if thats the case then they just forgot to shut it.....since airstarts take place at the gate.

GQfluffy

Mon May 02, 2005 10:30 am