brodiebrazil
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 12:56 pm

Intercom System To A Handycam

Fri May 13, 2005 2:51 pm

Does anyone here have experience hooking a camcorder up to an airplane intercom system. I'm trying to record the intercom audio on the videotape.

I've tried it but seems like the airplane puts out a line level and i need a mic level?
 
727EMflyer
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:22 am

RE: Intercom System To A Handycam

Sat May 14, 2005 4:04 pm

I'd say measure the output voltage and impedance of the headset audio, compare to what the mic on you camcorder puts out and wire in the appropriate resistor/capacitor combo to make the levels match. If you don't know enough about electronics to do the impedance matching yourself the nice folks at radioshack can probably help you out.
 
LAXinYYZ
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 11:03 am

RE: Intercom System To A Handycam

Sat May 14, 2005 11:03 pm

I think that the output and impedance of an aircraft audio is very similar to that of a walkman/mp3 player etc. I have been successful by just plugging a patch cable in. Try this with you walkman or mp3 player at home. You have to stop the recording and play back to make sure that you don't have the volume set too loud. I did this by starting with the volume very low. It was actually very clean sounding, you will be surprised.

Chris
"Don't trust any statistic that you didn't falsify yourself"
 
cancidas
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 7:34 am

RE: Intercom System To A Handycam

Sun May 15, 2005 12:47 am

you can just get a cable, i got mine at radio shack, with the two different plugs on either end. i think it cost me around $5. i've managed to record several videos, with the sound nice and clear.
"...cannot the kingdom of salvation take me home."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EIASO and 10 guests