dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

B707 Engine Pylons?

Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:25 am

Hey,

This may be a really simple Question, and i am sorry if this has been asked before but why is the No.1 engine pylon different from the others?

Pic:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tony Woof



Thanks
Mike
 
blooBirdie
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:15 am

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:34 am

Here's a close-up picture with the answer built in!


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Julian Whitelaw

 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:36 am

Thanks for the reply, i understnad now.

Thanks
Mike
 
User avatar
jetjack74
Posts: 6580
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 6:35 am

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:15 am

That's because it lacks a turbocompressor inlet.
Made from jets!
 
113312
Posts: 583
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 9:09 am

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:40 am

While we are looking at these, please note that all B720 series planes have turbocompressors on the inboard engines only. Most turbofan B707-320 series have turbocompressors on engines 2, 3 and 4. Some operators, like American Airlines opted for turbocompressors on the inboard engines on all of their B707s (120 and 320 series), and all Rolls Royce 420 series along with Pratt 120 and 320 turbojet models have pylons with inlets on all four but not all actually have the turbocompressors in each. Many varients and options on the Boeings.
 
justplanesmart
Posts: 676
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2001 3:25 pm

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:19 pm

Great source for information about differences with all the 707/720 variants:
http://www.diecastaircraftforum.com/showthread.php?t=21531
"So many planes; so little time..."
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Fri Jul 22, 2005 7:23 am

Thanks for the great answers, but it seems odd that only 1 engine wouldn't have a turbocompressor. Doesn't it?

Thanks
Mike
 
DeltaGuy
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 5:25 am

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:42 am

If you look at the FE's panel in detail, you'll see that the #1 engine doesn't have all of the accessories that 2,3, and 4 have...no TR, no turbo, nothing like that. I asked an FE on one when I was flying one for a few hops with the Omega Tanker, he just said that's how it worked with Boeing apparently, a 4th set of engine accessories wasn't needed.

DeltaGuy
"The cockpit, what is it?" "It's the little room in the front of the plane where the pilot sits, but that's not importan
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: B707 Engine Pylons?

Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:23 pm

Quoting DeltaGuy (Reply 7):

Ahh, so it was a sorta money saving idea at the same time?

Thanks
Mike

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests