flyerboyek

Computer Systems Airlines Use

Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:09 am

Hello,

What sort of computer software do you see the CSRs constantly typing away at the airport with? I know UA uses a Graphical User Interface type program, and from watching Airline I believe WN uses a text-based system. Does anyone know the names of these programs and how exactly they work?

EK

P.S. Did a search and couldn't find anything on this. As always, my apologies if this has been discussed before. I am a newbie on this forum :-P

beowulf

RE: Computer Systems Airlines Use

Thu Aug 11, 2005 5:24 pm

Hello,

I hope someone will fill in my gaps. The CRS were developed by airlines or groups of airlines. Popular ones are SABRE, WOLDSPAN, GALILEO and AMADEUS.

These links give a nice overview [hint: Google is your friend!!]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer_reservations_system
http://www.cbo.gov/ftpdocs/55xx/doc5541/doc02b-Part_4.pdf

All of the aforementioned ones are text-based systems and you need to learn certain commands to do something with them. However, in recenet years front-ends appeared to make them easier to use. Guide-Res for instance uses a combination of mouse and keyboard commands, and the latest generation is more graphical I guess.

As far as I understand the CRS are not an operating system but rather a software running on a system.

Nick

Nick

flyerboyek

Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:08 pm

I believe these systems are special -- I.E. checking in Pax, upgrades, baggage tags, frequent flyer miles.

I could be wrong however.

My question: are these systems used at the airports different than the standard GDS/CRS?

Thanks Nick for your input!

Blue Skies,
EK

beowulf

Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:13 am

Quoting FlyerBoyEK (Reply 2):
I believe these systems are special -- I.E. checking in Pax, upgrades, baggage tags, frequent flyer miles.

I could be wrong however.

My question: are these systems used at the airports different than the standard GDS/CRS?