kgfive

Boltless Turbine

Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:15 am

Curious repair mechanic here. I work for G.E. Aircraft Engines in Prestwick,Scotland and since last year we have been repairing CF6 -80C2 HPT Fwd Outer Seals, attached to boltless turbines. This repair requires us to remove part of the seal by machining the inside seal teeth that are prone to cracking which has caused a few in flight shutdowns due to separation of various parts from the HPT Rotor. Apart form the obvious seriousness of the said shutdown I was wondering what this calamity actually felt like from a pilots viewpoint. Sweaty palms when handling a $600.000 engine part so I can imagine the feeling when it decides to separate and fly off into the sky. Interested in your replies.
fill the skies

IFIXCF6

RE: Boltless Turbine

Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:24 am

Kgfive, Welcome to A.Net!
I had to say that even though you are the "enemy" (I am a former mechanic at GE WCO, Ontario, CA). This ("enemy") is said tongue-in-cheek.
I have assembled a few HPT's over the years, but I can't recall that detail. I spent nearly all of my time in Final Assembly, putting the modules together and overhauling the fans and AGBs.
Best of luck with your career with GE.
Mike

kgfive

Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:29 pm

Thanks for the tongue in cheek welcome Mike,
If I am correct there is not much repair work done at WCO now, it's been transferred to other plants with less of OCP ( Operating Cost Per/Hr ) We are 2nd highest in GE approx $90 at the moment, seems more and more is going to Far East Sad