Lumberton
Topic Author

Innovations That Could Alter The Aviation Industry

Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:40 am

(Did a search but couldn't find anything that addressed this on Tech/Ops. Maybe the wrong forum?).

I'm referring to real "game changers", like hydrogen fuel, flying wings, etc. I'm no engineer but there are many on this forum. All aerospace companies have teams that deal with future technologies (skunk works) and how to practically apply to the marketplace. What do you think would really set this industry on its head? For sure, a substitute for petroleum distallate fuel. New designs? Composites also for sure. Any other ideas?
"When all is said and done, more will be said than done".

777wt

RE: Innovations That Could Alter The Aviation Industry

Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:05 pm

Check out the 787

Bleedless engines, extenstive use of composites.

sean1234

Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:20 pm

A low earth orbit intra-planetary transport craft would be nice. Such a project would require advances in propulsion technology for common scheduled use.

The projects at Skunk Works and Phantom Works are purely military. To apply them to civil aircraft would require the blessing of the gov, or in other words their progression to obsolescence.

[Edited 2005-12-06 06:23:53]

jeffry747

RE: Innovations That Could Alter The Aviation Indu

Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:01 pm

How about a Star Trek transport beam. If you could put on in every home the airlines AND auto industry would go bankrupt.

silly  Sorry, I just couldn't resist.
C'mon Big B, FLY!

Lumberton
Topic Author

Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:02 pm

Quoting Sean1234 (Reply 2):
The projects at Skunk Works and Phantom Works are purely military

You're right. I should have put an "e.g." in front of skunk works.  Smile

Whiskeyflyer

Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:34 pm

consider the following

SAFETY ISSUE