flyinTLow

Sunglasses For Flight

Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:54 am

Hi everyone once again!

I am posting this in the Tech/Ops forum cause I'm hoping a lot of people with actual experience with my question can share their experience with me:

As a student pilot I am going to start my practical flight lessons starting July in Phoenix, AZ. That means there is no way of avoiding purchasing a pair of sunglasses. So my question to all the pilots out there:

- what sunglasses do you have?

- what are your experiences with them?

- what kind of sunglasses do you recommend? (e.g. Aviators, polarized lenses)

- what color of lenses do you recommend?

All of those questions in respect to both flying small aircrafts as well as airliners (with LCD screens, etc.).

Any comments or links with further information are very much appreciated!

Cheers,
Thilo

P.S.: sorry if this topic has been discussed, a quick search didn't reveal anything to me...
- When dreams take flight, follow them -

Pihero

RE: Sunglasses For Flight

Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:32 am

You're right ! Glare can be fierce in Arizona in July !
I ha ve used the classical Ray-Ban for decades, but i found that the green lenses somehow prevent a good reading of the instruments in a glass cockpit.
Then, ten years ago, a friend of mine presented me a pair of grey lensed Randolph (simply called "the aviator") and I've used them ever since.
I advise avoiding these trendy new surfer type glasses as you could 1/= sweat into them, and 2/- you're bound to see some vision distorsion, or worse a complete blank-out of a given colour, the red in general.
Some friends swear by the Serengeti range,too and they seem better in hazy conditions...
So the choice is still yours, but go for a reputed brand with good optical lenses, go for practicality, not for looks or fashion.
Polarized lenses are an ABSOLUTE NO-NO as quite a lot of aviation lights are polarised. You might find yourself in a potentially dangerous situation if you can't see the lights !