MM
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 1:19 am

What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 3:08 am

I recently flew on an A330-200, and spent a total of 14 hours wondering what this button on the left hand side of the TV screen actually did:



You can pull it out, and twirl it round and round but as far as I could tell, it does not actually DO anything.

It is not a volume knob, as that is on the arm rest. It is not a contast/brightness thing as those buttons are on the other side. It is not an on/off switch either.

Any thoughts?
 
jamesbuk
Posts: 3712
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:52 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 3:12 am

Hmm coat hanger maybe, Ive seen coat hangers on aircraft seats before.

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!
 
Mir
Posts: 19107
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 3:59 am

It's the "Overly Curious Passenger Eject-o-Matic" (OCPEM). You should be thankful that your's wasn't functioning properly, otherwise you'd have found yourself on the express to terra firma station.  Smile






















Actually,it's just to hang stuff on.

That's a nice interior. What airline were you flying? Emirates? Qatar? Etihad?

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
MM
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 1:19 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 4:31 am

Thanks folks, I spent all that time fiddling with it and it never crossed my mind that it might be for hanging things on. I assumed it was something electronic.

It was a brand new Etihad aircraft, really nice interior. I will hopefully write a trip report soon:



[Edited 2006-05-17 21:32:02]
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 4:47 am

I always wondered why so many airlines have a little sticker next to the hanger that says "coat". Now I know why! Big grin
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
MM
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 1:19 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 5:12 am

Right, now that we're getting some answers to life's deeper questions, I'll chance it by asking the next stupid question...

Question: Is it usual to have a window in the toilet? On most aircraft I can remember (not that I really ever paid much attention to it), the toilets don't have windows. On this aircraft I got an excellent view from 42,000ft while attending a call of nature. Is this normal?

 
AirWillie6475
Posts: 2372
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 1:45 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 5:16 am

Quoting MM (Reply 5):
On this aircraft I got an excellent view from 42,000ft while attending a call of nature. Is this normal?

I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7205
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 5:20 am

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 6):
I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.

We were up to 41 000 ft between Iceland and Scotland on a TS A332 about a week and a half ago. I´ve also been over 40 000 ft several times in the B767.
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
MM
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 1:19 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 5:28 am



12,500m = 41,000ft approx.
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 5:33 am

Quoting MM (Reply 5):
Right, now that we're getting some answers to life's deeper questions, I'll chance it by asking the next stupid question...

Question: Is it usual to have a window in the toilet? On most aircraft I can remember (not that I really ever paid much attention to it), the toilets don't have windows. On this aircraft I got an excellent view from 42,000ft while attending a call of nature. Is this normal?

As we like to repeat here at "nitpickers 'r us", the interior is chosen by the airline. There's nothing stopping a window in the crapper. Most airlines just put an interior bulkhead and a filler plate there. I have seen two windows on SK MD-90s. Personally, I think more airlines should have windows in the loo. It takes away most of the claustrophobia.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
andz
Posts: 7627
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:49 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 5:49 am

SAA have the loo window in business class in the 346.
After Monday and Tuesday even the calendar says WTF...
 
seanp11
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:16 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 7:33 am

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 6):
I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.

I've been at FL400 in a 777. And the 747 is certified up to FL450.
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 7:52 am

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 9):
Personally, I think more airlines should have windows in the loo. It takes away most of the claustrophobia.

But then you get those strange people who get self-concious if there's a window in the loo, even at 30,000+ feet.

 confused 
 
AirWillie6475
Posts: 2372
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 1:45 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 8:29 am

Quoting MM (Reply 8):
12,500m = 41,000ft approx.

Actually that's 37,500. 1 meter is 3 feet. Actually I ask this question because it's known that the seat back monitors can have errors in indicated altitude. I remember a Jetblue pax in on the trips forum said a while ago that the PTV picture he took showed that they were flying at 41K feet when the A320 only goes up to 39K feet.
 
jetflyer
Posts: 603
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 7:38 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 8:36 am

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 13):

Actually that's 37,500. 1 meter is 3 feet. Actually I ask this question because it's known that the seat back monitors can have errors in indicated altitude. I remember a Jetblue pax in on the trips forum said a while ago that the PTV picture he took showed that they were flying at 41K feet when the A320 only goes up to 39K feet.

12,500 * 3.28 = 41,000ft

3.28 feet to a meter.

Airliners don't fly at 37500 or anything ending in 500 because of 1,000ft seperation.

[Edited 2006-05-18 01:37:04]
 
dw747400
Posts: 1091
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 8:24 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 8:39 am

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 13):
1 meter is 3 feet.

Not exactly:

1 meter = about 3.28 feet

12500*3.28=41000

Edit: I knew someone would beat me to the punch...

[Edited 2006-05-18 01:40:30]
CFI--Certfied Freakin Idiot
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 10:02 am

Quoting David L (Reply 12):
Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 9):
Personally, I think more airlines should have windows in the loo. It takes away most of the claustrophobia.

But then you get those strange people who get self-concious if there's a window in the loo, even at 30,000+ feet.

Easily solved. Every crapper with a window on a plane I've seen has had a curtain just like all the other windows.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
aogdesk
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 2:26 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 10:47 am

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 16):
Every crapper with a window on a plane I've seen has had a curtain just like all the other windows.

An added advantage of the curtain would be that the scary gremlin that is known to appear on the wings of DC-3's in major thunderstorms wouldn't be able to check out your equipment while he's ripping apart the wing.
 
Mir
Posts: 19107
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 11:55 am

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 6):
Quoting MM (Reply 5):
On this aircraft I got an excellent view from 42,000ft while attending a call of nature. Is this normal?

I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.

I've been up to 40,000ft in a 330 twice. I think that's the limit. Other planes are able to go even higher.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
N600RR
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:01 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 11:55 am

Quoting MM (Thread starter):
spent a total of 14 hours wondering what this button on the left hand side of the TV screen actually did

I'm not certain, but I think I remember reading somewhere that it's either the beta version of Airbus' answer to "Connexion by Boeing" (which will be rolled-out officially on the A350), or it's a new IFE system for LCCs currently undergoing secret passenger acceptance evaluations on several voluntarily participating international carriers.....


 wink 
"And the fluffy white lines that the airplane leaves behind are drifting right in front of the waning of the moon" -Cake
 
N600RR
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:01 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 11:59 am

Quoting MM (Thread starter):
joined May 2006, 4 posts

Welcome to a.net, btw.  bigthumbsup 
"And the fluffy white lines that the airplane leaves behind are drifting right in front of the waning of the moon" -Cake
 
highflyer9790
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 1:21 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 12:08 pm

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 6):
I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.

most, in fact all modern jet commercial aircraft are certified at and above FL410 to FL450. get into the bizjets and you are lookin at FL510...
121
 
star_world
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2001 7:52 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 12:53 pm

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 6):
I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.

Have a look at some of the flights on Flightware, where you can see the current altitude of the flight, plus the filed flight plan altitude (note that these will change every day, as Flightaware only shows the most recent flight) -

For example: http://flightaware.com/live/flight/BAW187 (40,000ft)
 
leftwing
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:48 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 1:01 pm

Its grate to have a window in the loo..whish the loo at home had such a view...FL420 aah! Sure beats the 2 day old news paper
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13075
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 5:01 pm

Quoting Jetflyer (Reply 14):
Airliners don't fly at 37500 or anything ending in 500 because of 1,000ft seperation.

Actually they can. All aircraft can end up at such altitudes when a country uses the metric system instead of the imperial system.

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Jeffwell


Countries like Russia and China use the metric system for altitudes/flight levels and speed. In this picture, you can clearly see the aircraft is cruising at FL315, or around 9610 metres. As long as you can ensure the 1000 ft/300 m separation, it doesn't matter if you fly with the metric or the imperial system for measurements.

Some flightdecks like the Douglas EFIS cockpit can I believe even switch the altitude readout directly from imperial to metric.
 
ANother
Posts: 1833
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:47 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 7:47 pm

Quoting Dw747400 (Reply 15):
Not exactly:
1 meter = about 3.28 feet
12500*3.28=41000

Not exactly. According to Google (even though they can't spell metre) 12 500 meters = 41 010.4987 feet. I like the 4 decimal precision.

A meter is what you use to measure a metre!
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 8:43 pm

Quoting ANother (Reply 25):
A meter is what you use to measure a metre!


 biggrin 
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 8:56 pm

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 16):
Every crapper with a window on a plane I've seen has had a curtain just like all the other windows.

True. I've also seen frosted loo windows.

Quoting Aogdesk (Reply 17):
the scary gremlin that is known to appear on the wings of DC-3's in major thunderstorms wouldn't be able to check out your equipment while he's ripping apart the wing.

I thought of that but I thought I'd already gone too far. Obviously not.  Smile
 
MDorBust
Posts: 4914
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:10 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 9:12 pm

Quoting MM (Thread starter):
Any thoughts?

It's actually the default option for carriers that decide not to install expensive IFE systems.

That little knob has shown great ability as an entertainment system all it's own... sometimes keeping passengers occupied for as much as fourteen hours.

Some carriers are actually thinking of phaseing out the more expensive and difficult to maintain systems in favor of the knob.
"I KICKED BURNING TERRORIST SO HARD IN BALLS THAT I TORE A TENDON" - Alex McIlveen
 
MM
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 1:19 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Thu May 18, 2006 10:13 pm

You're right... my 2 kids (aged 3 and 1) made full use of the device during the flight. At one point it was actually the steering wheel of their imaginary in-flight fire engine, would you believe?
 
ANother
Posts: 1833
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:47 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Fri May 19, 2006 12:28 am

Quoting HAWK21M (Reply 26):
regds
MEL

That meter is measuring feet, not metres!
 
andz
Posts: 7627
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:49 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Fri May 19, 2006 1:15 am

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 6):
I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.

I have jumpseated on a 747SP than went to FL410 on a flight that lasted about 50 min. I also got to FL410 on a 738 on Tuesday.
After Monday and Tuesday even the calendar says WTF...
 
N600RR
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:01 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Fri May 19, 2006 12:40 pm

Quoting Mir (Reply 2):
Actually,it's just to hang stuff on.

Umm, like, what kind of stuff?...

Quoting MM (Reply 3):
it never crossed my mind that it might be for hanging things on.

 checkmark  Apparently, by looking at your pic, it did not cross the minds of your fellow passengers on that flight either...  no 

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 4):
I always wondered why so many airlines have a little sticker next to the hanger that says "coat".

But there is no sticker... confused 

Has anyone here actually used it to hang ANYTHING on???

Dunno, I'm not convinced.  stirthepot 
"And the fluffy white lines that the airplane leaves behind are drifting right in front of the waning of the moon" -Cake
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Fri May 19, 2006 6:30 pm

Quoting ANother (Reply 30):
That meter is measuring feet, not metres!

http://barney.usu.edu/~bob/family/bills_feet.jpg

True

 biggrin 

regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Fri May 19, 2006 9:19 pm

Quoting N600RR (Reply 32):

Has anyone here actually used it to hang ANYTHING on???

I have. But I fly with a suit every now and then. Don't want too many wrinkles.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
CX Flyboy
Posts: 6039
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 1999 6:10 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Fri May 19, 2006 11:19 pm

I've been up to FL430 on a 777 a few times.
 
redcordes
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 6:28 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Sat May 20, 2006 1:14 am

Boy, what a great public educational system we have here in the States. A meter is 3 feet? Unbelieveable. If it were, it would be called a YARD (no, not the kind you play in). Hello!
"The only source of knowledge is experience." A. Einstein "Science w/o religion is lame. Religion w/o science is blind."
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Sat May 20, 2006 4:23 am

Quoting Redcordes (Reply 36):
Boy, what a great public educational system we have here in the States. A meter is 3 feet? Unbelieveable. If it were, it would be called a YARD (no, not the kind you play in). Hello!

If ye would just go to metric like the rest of the world (including your military and medical professionals) things would be so much easier. But that's another story

On that note, did you know the US is the only country in the world that has its own dual-beam headlight system for cars? Every other country has the UNECE standard. Also another story but it does explain why I spent my first 2 years in the States wondering why some people had their highbeams on constantly (they didn't).

[Edited 2006-05-19 21:26:36]
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
ANother
Posts: 1833
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:47 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Sat May 20, 2006 4:49 am

Quoting Redcordes (Reply 36):
If it were, it would be called a YARD (no, not the kind you play in). Hello!

You aren't refering to a Garden, by any chance? (I grew up having a back yard, but my wife has re-educated me - I now have a back Garden (actually spelled jardin here!)
 
User avatar
Tugger
Posts: 6085
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:38 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Sat May 20, 2006 5:12 am

Quoting David L (Reply 27):
but I thought I'd already gone too far. Obviously not.

You are on A.net how can you possible go to far?!?  biggrin 
I don’t know that I am unafraid to be myself, but it is hard to be somebody else. -W. Shatner
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Sat May 20, 2006 5:31 am

Quoting Tugger (Reply 39):
You are on A.net how can you possible go to far?!?

Is that a challenge?  biggrin 
 
VC-10
Posts: 3546
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 1999 11:34 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Sat May 20, 2006 8:08 am

Quoting ANother (Reply 38):
but my wife has re-educated me - I now have a back Garden (actually spelled jardin here!)

I guess she will have to start on your grammar next - spelt

 Wink
 
wingscrubber
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2001 1:38 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Tue May 23, 2006 4:00 am

Guys... if you ever need to convert ANYTHING, use this-
http://joshmadison.net/software/convert/download.php
Convert.exe, it's a nifty little program which converts any units into any other units, I find it very very useful, incidentally, 12,500m=...


[Edited 2006-05-22 21:01:45]
Resident TechOps Troll
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Tue May 23, 2006 4:19 am

There's also the very useful: http://www.onlineconversion.com/. Ever wanted to convert from Atomic Mass Unit (1937) to Bag (Portland Cement)? Now you can!

Incidentally: 1 atomic mass unit [1986] = 3.894536691e-29 bag [portland cement]
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
vikkyvik
Posts: 11858
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:58 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Tue May 23, 2006 9:05 am

Quoting VC-10 (Reply 41):
I guess she will have to start on your grammar next - spelt

Not in the US! (at least according to my dictionary).

spelt 'spelt chiefly Brit past of SPELL

I used the Convert program a bunch last year. It actually converted one thing wrong. I don't remember what it was anymore though. Just check your numbers!

~Vik
I'm watching Jeopardy. The category is worst Madonna songs. "This one from 1987 is terrible".
 
User avatar
TupolevTu154
Posts: 1918
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:00 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Mon May 29, 2006 1:18 am

Quoting AirWillie6475 (Reply 6):
I've never heard of a heavy aircraft exceeding 39,000ft.

LGW-TFS, we flew at FL410 most of the way, A320.

Quoting David L (Reply 27):
True. I've also seen frosted loo windows.

On BA's G-CIVC (744) In one of the first class loos there is a window. When the door is unlocked, it's frosted. As soon as you lock the door, it's unfrosted... Seems a bit pointless to me!

Tom Big grin
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Mon May 29, 2006 5:22 pm

On BA's G-CIVC (744) In one of the first class loos there is a window. When the door is unlocked, it's frosted. As soon as you lock the door, it's unfrosted... Seems a bit pointless to me!

Interesting to know how thats controlled.
Purpose could be to avoid scaring the Pax when they Enter the Loo.  Smile
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
bio15
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2001 8:10 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Mon May 29, 2006 6:34 pm

I believe it is important to know by memory at least the most important conversion factors for daily life. Those are length and weight unit conversions between International System and U.S. system. It's always been a fine trait of engineering to promote this kind of mathematical nature on every person, even if their field of action or thought is not related to numbers whatsoever.


1 inch = 0.0254 meters (exactly)
1 foot = 12 inches = 0.3048 meters
12500 meters * (1 foot / 0.3048 meters) = 41010.49868 feet

not 41010.38 feet. So I guess we could all agree that this "convert" software is BUSTED!  Smile Always good to have a 10 digit pocket calculator and your numbers fresh in mind.

Alfredo



----

ps: That software actually uses the old length conversions which were in use until the new convention designated in 1959 by national standards laboratories. The new convention standardized the foot as 0.3048 meters eliminating a bunch of decimal places.
 
skyman
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 5:10 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Mon May 29, 2006 8:08 pm

FL 410 is no problem for a B747 or A340 when they are light enough.
Bizzjets FL 530 if you got a good one.

Quoting Mir (Reply 2):
It's the "Overly Curious Passenger Eject-o-Matic" (OCPEM).

 laughing   laughing  lol thanks.
Ohh and I don't know if a window in the loo is such a good idea. You guys take too much time while the rest outside wait and wait  eyepopping 
 
gigneil
Posts: 14133
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 10:25 am

RE: What Does This Button Do On An A330?

Tue May 30, 2006 4:21 am

Quoting Wingscrubber (Reply 42):
Guys... if you ever need to convert ANYTHING, use this-

Heh, if you ever need to convert anything use Google. It also converts anything that can be converted.

N

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests