iluv727s
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 12:31 am

Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:29 am

The attached photo shows a 737 departing enroute to Denton Regional. Can a 737 operate from a 5999 foot runway?

http://www.airliners.net/open.file?i...=3&prev_id=1044656&next_id=0606704

Attached is airfield info:

http://flightaware.com/resources/airport/KDTO#runways

Thanks,

Ronnie
A lack of planning on your behalf does not create an emergency on my behalf.
 
mtnwest1979
Posts: 1793
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:23 am

RE: Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:33 am

Well with an altitude of only 632 ft ASL, and perhaps it was empty on return, 5999 is more than enough.
When AS flew to Dutch Harbor, their rw is only 3900 I believe.

And, I have seen a 737 of old Viscount Air Service fly into/out of McCall,ID (MYL), the runway is just tad over 6000' and elevation just over 5000'.

But if it was 90 degress in Denton, maybe close.
"If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
 
iluv727s
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 12:31 am

RE: Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:37 am

The caption for the picture states July 2005... I can assure you that it is a wee bit warmer than 90 degrees here! In August, we sustain triple digit temperatures when the heat index is factored in. Thanks for the info.
A lack of planning on your behalf does not create an emergency on my behalf.
 
javibi
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2004 5:55 pm

RE: Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:51 am

Quoting Iluv727s (Thread starter):
Can a 737 operate from a 5999 foot runway?

737 are regulars at SDU (sea level, 4314 ft runway)

j
 
COERJ145
Posts: 1140
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 7:22 am

RE: Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:49 am

Quoting MtnWest1979 (Reply 1):
When AS flew to Dutch Harbor, their rw is only 3900 I believe.

Correct.
 
DC10Forever
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:25 pm

RE: Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:19 am

As Javibi said above, Santos Dummont Airport (SDU) in Rio de Janeiro has a very short runway where 737-300/700 and A319 operate regularly. The length of the runway 02/20 is 1350 meters or a little more than 4300 feet. And is also one of the most beautiful approaches in the world, indeed.

Take a look:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Antonio Lima - Contato Radar
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Christian Dal Mas




Depending on the aircraft weight, I believe 4999 is more than enough.
Better one flying than two grounded
 
coa747
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:11 pm

RE: Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 6:14 am

Dutch Harbor is very tricky because you have to deal with not only the short runway but the terrain which rises rapidly at the end of the runway. Also during bad storms the runway disappears under water leaving all kinds of interesting things behind. If they can't land at Dutch Harbor, Cold Bay is usally the diversion point.

Big version: Width: 1004 Height: 738 File size: 110kb
 
KALB
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2000 12:33 pm

RE: Runway Length Needed To Operate A 737-200F

Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:00 pm

737-200s have flown into and out of KAHN (Athens,GA), longest runway is 5500 feet on sports charters for the University of Georgia. Football team charters fly out of Atlanta Hartsfield, I believe.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests