rush744

Aircarft Control Surfaces And Stabilisers

Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:05 am

Hey guys i am currently studying Aerospace at the University of Hertfordshire, London, UK.

As one of our modules we have been asked to design and develop an aircraft, i have been designated the stability and control.  Sad

Our aircraft has a Double Delta shape wing, with a vertical stabiliser, however i have run into some problems. I have looked through numerous books and looked on many websites yet have not been able to find a way to calculate the control surface sizes for the aircraft. We have chosen to use elevons/flaperons (like those on the eurofighter) on the wing and just a rudder within the stabiliser.

Would anyone be able to help me in anyway possible?  Confused

I have not been able to find any rule of thumb that will shed light onto calculating the elevon size with regard to size of wing, or the size of vertical stabiliser.

Any help would be appreciated,

Regards, Rushpal  Smile

FredT

RE: Aircarft Control Surfaces And Stabilisers

Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:24 am

I assume you have looked at the existing double delta design and tried to inter/extrapolate?

For a school project, I'd say winging it based on rather sparse publically available statistical data will be quite enough. Check with your professor.

There's the Saab 35 Draken, Saab 210 "Mini Draken", Israeli Kfir, F-16XL, Su-15, F7-MG, Concorde (slight variation of the concept) etc.

Rgds,
Fred
I thought I was doing good trying to avoid those airport hotels... and look at me now.

vikkyvik

Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:59 am

Quoting Rush744 (Thread starter):
As one of our modules we have been asked to design and develop an aircraft, i have been designated the stability and control.

Hey -