AirSpare
Topic Author

Altitude/supersonic Air/compressor Stall

Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:59 am

I should know the answer to this question, but I don't. Nor when I was working a flightline where the people that would know the answer, could I find a person that could or would answer.

The question is regarding the U-2/TR-1.

The higher the altitude, the lower super sonic airspeed is. So, the higher you fly, the faster you must go to gain/maintain altitude.

So, the question is, a U-2 flying at the very edge of it's maximum altitude is balancing between a wing stall due to generating the maximum lift it can due to thin air and airspeed, and a engine compressor stall due to supersonic air entering it's inlets?

So I U-2 pilot, would have just a couple of knots between stalling the wings or the compressor?

Sorry in advance if this is a dumb question, I worked avionics as a tech, I'm not an aerodynamicist. Just pondering time "back in the day".

cheers~AirSpare
Get someone else for your hero worship fetish

Starlionblue

RE: Altitude/supersonic Air/compressor Stall

Fri Mar 16, 2007 3:54 am

Quoting AirSpare (Thread starter):
So I U-2 pilot, would have just a couple of knots between stalling the wings or the compressor?

Actually the limits for the U-2 are stall and mach buffet. U-2s at cruise sometimes operate with only a 10 knot margin between these. You can imagine how much fun that is for the pilots since IIRC the U-2 has no autothrottle.

Don't know about compressor stall on the U-2.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo

futurecaptain

Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:02 am

The higher the altitude, the lower super sonic airspeed is

Speed of sound is depends on air temp, not altitude.

You are correct. I'm not completely sure but the way I hear it is the U-2 had a few knots between a stall and overspeed. I havn't heard of compressor stalls on the U-2, but I would think it's a legitimate concern.