HAWK21M
Topic Author

Aviation Degrees In Maintenance.

Thu May 17, 2007 12:20 am

Are there any Degrees one can pursue from a Maintenance/Engineering Department.
As Out here Aircraft Maintenancde is a Licenced Field.
Does a Degree prevent a Licenced AME from working on line.
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)

KELPkid

RE: Aviation Degrees In Maintenance.

Thu May 17, 2007 12:29 am

A few community colleges in the US offer associate degrees in aviation maintenance...IIRC, you end the program with an A&P license, and then you have to work your way up to IA status (under the supervision of other A&P mechanics).
Celebrating the birth of KELPkidJR on August 5, 2009 :-)

FredT

Thu May 17, 2007 1:14 am

I hold a degree in aero engineering. During the education there were several paths you could go which affected your choice of courses to take. Construction, maintenance, logistics... I'm thinking most AE programs will give you the option to tailor the education towards maintenance, if that is what you desire.

I know that in some fields, in some countries, a degree will not help you get a job at a lower level. They're not too interested in hiring someone with an engineering degree on the floor, as they (probably correctly) assume that as soon as there is an engineering opening that individual is out the door again. "Sorry, overqualified, back to the unemployment line you go... we'll hire some git who's got a degree in burger flipping instead".

Rgds,
Fred
I thought I was doing good trying to avoid those airport hotels... and look at me now.

Dalmd88

Thu May 17, 2007 1:28 am