Boeingluvr
Topic Author
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:56 am

A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:44 pm

I saw a Fedex A300 take off from YYC on runway 10. This is the shorter of two runways at YYC. It appeared as though it took off very slow but started rotating about halfway down the runway. The length is about 8000 feet so 4000 seems a bit short. Usually I see 737's rotating at about 6000. I suppose with lengths of some airports like SXM being what they are it's entirely possible. Just doesn't seem as though the 4000 ft rotation is normal.

I know some A/C like the 757 have amazing take off performance and climb performance as well. Is the A300 alike
? I know this may be a pointless forum but just wondered if anyone has thoughts on it.
 
pr1268
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 12:22 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:03 pm

I flew an AA A300 SJU-MIA (2 hour flight) in July 1996 with a full pax load - I remember the plane rotated before the 6000' marker (1829 m) of SJU's runway 8. Typical performance, I suppose. Maybe it was a slow package delivery day for FX at Calgary that day...  Wink
The only time an aircraft has too much fuel is when it is on fire.
 
xjramper
Posts: 2318
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 1:10 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:11 pm

Sounds like this is the job of the Tech/Ops forum!

XJR
Look ma' no hands!
 
SESGDL
Posts: 2613
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:25 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:41 pm

Cargo aircraft tend to use very short runways during the daytime, especially if headed to a nearby destination. At MSP, I've seen FedEx DC-10/MD-10s use 3,000-4,000 foot runways, where as NW DC-10s would never use less than 8,000 feet. Widebodies when not fully loaded and headed to nearby destinations use extremely short runways. Watch a DL 767 at ATL headed for MCO take off and you'll see another example of this, sometimes 3,000 feet and they just pop off the ground.

Jeremy
 
ConcordeBoy
Posts: 16852
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2001 8:04 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:52 pm

Not uncommon at all... the early FX AF6s use the 6900ft runway at BTR quite a bit, and are almost always airborne by 4000-4500ft.
Faire du ciel le plus bel endroit de la terre c'est impossible sans Concorde!
 
andz
Posts: 7624
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:49 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:09 pm

I remember the first time I flew on an A300 I was alarmed to see that we turned onto the runway and accelerated with no flap, we got off the ground pretty smartly and all was well, but this is the only aircraft type I have flown on that used no flap out of JNB.
After Monday and Tuesday even the calendar says WTF...
 
User avatar
Jetlagged
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:00 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:25 pm

Quoting Andz (Reply 5):
I remember the first time I flew on an A300 I was alarmed to see that we turned onto the runway and accelerated with no flap, we got off the ground pretty smartly and all was well, but this is the only aircraft type I have flown on that used no flap out of JNB.

It would have had slats out though, the first flap lever position in the gate is slats and kruegers only.
The glass isn't half empty, or half full, it's twice as big as it needs to be.
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17058
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 10:10 pm

Quoting Andz (Reply 5):
I remember the first time I flew on an A300 I was alarmed to see that we turned onto the runway and accelerated with no flap, we got off the ground pretty smartly and all was well, but this is the only aircraft type I have flown on that used no flap out of JNB.

Hehe. You are not the first. A300 can take off with no flaps. As can (IIRC) the various jet powered Fockers.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
boeingfixer
Posts: 573
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 2:02 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:07 pm

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 7):
A300 can take off with no flaps

No flaps = yes. No flaps and slats = NO. The minimum takeoff flap setting is Slats 15/Flaps 0 for the A300B4-600.

Cheers,

John
Cheers, John YYC
 
User avatar
Jetlagged
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:00 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:08 am

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 7):
A300 can take off with no flaps.

No, see my preceding post:

Quoting Jetlagged (Reply 6):
It would have had slats out though, the first flap lever position in the gate is slats and kruegers only.



Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 7):
As can (IIRC) the various jet powered Fockers

The Fockers were in a film or two. The aircraft are Fokkers. But yes they can take off with no flap.  Smile
The glass isn't half empty, or half full, it's twice as big as it needs to be.
 
n710ps
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:09 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:12 am

Focker in a Fokker! Ha ha I always wanted to say that.

So anyway all are correct about the Airbus and the Fokker. Fokkers can also land on grass strips. In fact I beleivethere is one of a 100 doing touch and goes on a grass runway here someplace.
There is plenty of room for Gods animals, right next to the mashed potatoes!
 
3DPlanes
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:12 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:47 am

I took a Sun Country from MSP-MCO one time. Packed in on a single class DC-10, but hey it's a cheap way to leave MSP in the deep of winter...

Leaving MCO, I had a window seat aft of the wings, and IIRC (it's been a few years) we took off with no flaps. I can't promise that exactly... It may have been flaps 5 where they just slide back. But I definitely recall being concerned that they didn't appear to be putting flaps out. This wasn't too long after the crash in Detroit.

So, can the DC-10 do a no flap takeoff?
"Simplicate and add lightness." - Ed Heinemann
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17058
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:51 am

Quoting Jetlagged (Reply 9):
The Fockers were in a film or two. The aircraft are Fokkers. But yes they can take off with no flap

Oops. Big grin
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
speedbrd
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:18 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:53 am

Here in SJU where AA's A300-605Rs are very common they typically take about 5000ft of runway on take-off, and 4000ft is not uncommon. I've seen some take a bit more than 3000 ft sometimes, perhaps when they made the short hops to STT or SXM. Rotation is brisk and they are very solid climbers. They make for very interesting take-offs in comparison with A320s and 330s
 
747fan
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:40 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:10 am

I see UPS A300's takeoff from SDF all the time and they seem to be relatively spritely takeoff performers, although sometimes they'll use closer to about 6 or 7000 ft. of runway. I've noticed during the day that they indeed are usually up in about 5000 ft, maybe a bit more on a hot day or for a longer flight/heavy load. At night, however, they seem to have longer takeoff runs, even to relatively close destinations. Once they're off the ground, they always seem to climb like homesick angels, probably partly because they often only use slats w/ no flaps. Apparently they carry more freight at nighttime than during the day. The 767's seem to be about the same, as well as the DC8's and 727's. The 767's and sometimes the DC8's climb relatively steeply.The MD11's generally fly longer routes and at night when they takeoff to ANC (they stop there before going to Asia), they use at least about 7000 ft. generally and the HNL flight sometimes close to 10000 ft. However they always have a steep climbout.But on short routes (as well as the evening ANC flight generally), they get up pretty quick and have a steep climbout. The 747 flights to ANC, be it day or night, always take their sweet time getting off the ground and climbing (they go over fast and slow). But even 747's on the short flights (such as DFW) are in the air after about 5 or 6000 ft.; I was spotting the other afternoon and noticed a 742 to ONT (a 4 hour flight) get off the ground in about 5000 ft. Of course we all know about the 757's takeoff performance, so I won't go there. Wow, I got a little carried away here, but to sum it up, the A300 seems to have good takeoff performance and especially good climbing performance.
 
vikkyvik
Posts: 11768
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:58 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:21 am

Quoting Boeingluvr (Thread starter):
I suppose with lengths of some airports like SXM being what they are it's entirely possible.

Just to clarify a bit - SXM doesn't really have that short a runway. It's about 7,700 feet long:

http://worldaerodata.com/wad.cgi?id=NT00001
I'm watching Jeopardy. The category is worst Madonna songs. "This one from 1987 is terrible".
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13070
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:23 pm

Quoting BoeingFixer (Reply 8):
No flaps = yes. No flaps and slats = NO. The minimum takeoff flap setting is Slats 15/Flaps 0 for the A300B4-600.

Curious. On Friday I saw an AA AB6 going back to MIA from SJO, and first the flaps were out, but then , when it was taking off, they went back to a slats only T/O configuration. I'm aware of A300s needing only slats minimum to take off, but that they changed the takeoff configuration when backtracking was a bit odd IMO.
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17058
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:41 pm

Quoting Vikkyvik (Reply 15):
Just to clarify a bit - SXM doesn't really have that short a runway. It's about 7,700 feet long:

Indeed. It does take the very largest airliners. But there's a mountain not far from the end.  Wink SXM is actually more taxi limited than anything else. Not a lot of space to maneuver.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
PGNCS
Posts: 2249
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:07 am

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:43 am

Certain models of DC-9 can also take off with Slats extended/Flaps 0. I've done it quite a few times in Denver.
 
GoingAround
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 11:28 pm

RE: A300 Take Off Performance

Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:20 am

Quoting N710PS (Reply 10):
Fokkers can also land on grass strips. In fact I beleivethere is one of a 100 doing touch and goes on a grass runway here someplace.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Mike de Bruijn



I believe this is the picture you were talking about  Wink

All the best,

Alex

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests