flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

Any Simulator Technicians?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:30 am

Anyone here at 'liners a Simulator Technician?

I work at Delta myself.
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
MQTmxguy
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:58 pm

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:32 am

Which shop? My Dad used to be a sim tech for DL.
Well at least we can all take comfort in the fact that NW will never retire their DC-9s
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 9:11 am

MQTmxguy, check your PMs.
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
User avatar
Jetlagged
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:00 pm

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 3:26 pm

I'd imagine there are quite a few sim techs whiling away long night shifts reading/posting in this forum. It's hard to work around simulators and not get interested in airliner tech/ops. I'm not a sim tech, but I am a simulator engineer.
The glass isn't half empty, or half full, it's twice as big as it needs to be.
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 4:12 pm

Exactly - which is why started this thread.  Smile
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
MissedApproach
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:12 am

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 4:40 pm

I work on simulators, but they're gunnery simulators, not flight sims. Typically our systems might run 3 or 4 computers in a rack, each specializing in a particular task & communicating on a LAN. The OS is usually commercial to keep costs down, older systems using DOS or an older Windows, sometimes Unix.
I was working on something in Trenton a few years ago & I took the opportunity to visit the guys running the CAE Herc simulator there. They run a proprietary program on C+ I think, but the big difference is in the video processing power. There are two rows of racks that mount video cards. They aren't full of cards (upgraded?), but there's still a lot of computing going on in there. There is an isolated anti-static floor, & cooled air flows underneath it & up through the racks, cooling the video cards. There is another seperate room with the hydraulic pump for the motion system & a power conditioner which isolates the system from the commercial electrical grid & provides clean voltages.
Although our simulators get more complex with each generation, it was very interesting to compare them to the pinnacle of simulation technology.

http://www.cae.com/www2004/Products_and_Services/index.shtml
Can you hear me now?
 
YYZatcboy
Posts: 1002
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 2:15 am

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Tue Nov 27, 2007 1:55 am

I work (seasonal) on a Sim Ride... if that counts  Smile (same base, diff cabin.)
DHC1/3/4 MD11/88 L1011 A319/20/21/30 B727 735/6/7/8/9 762/3 E175/90 CRJ/700/705 CC150. J/S DH8D 736/7/8
 
2H4
Posts: 7960
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:11 pm

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:15 am

Out of curiosity, how damaging would it be to take a full-motion level D sim, turn crash inhibit off, go inverted, and auger the airplane straight down into the ground at, say, about 300 knots?

2H4
Intentionally Left Blank
 
pilotpip
Posts: 2820
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 3:26 pm

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:46 am



Quoting 2H4 (Reply 7):
Out of curiosity, how damaging would it be to take a full-motion level D sim, turn crash inhibit off, go inverted, and auger the airplane straight down into the ground at, say, about 300 knots?

2H4

The sim flakes out, and shuts itself down.

My sim instructor decided to teach me the importance of having my hand on the yoke down low by giving me an aileron runaway. Sim jerked hard to the right, screens went red, and we droped as the motion system went offline.
DMI
 
flynavy
Posts: 2177
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:48 am

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:18 am



Quoting 2H4 (Reply 7):
Out of curiosity, how damaging would it be to take a full-motion level D sim, turn crash inhibit off, go inverted, and auger the airplane straight down into the ground at, say, about 300 knots?

You can also "turn off" crashes. In this instance you would simply "bump" off the ground at 300 knots.  Smile
Change is: one airline, six continents!
 
2H4
Posts: 7960
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:11 pm

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Tue Nov 27, 2007 3:17 pm



Quoting Flynavy (Reply 9):
You can also "turn off" crashes. In this instance you would simply "bump" off the ground at 300 knots.

I can confirm that with crash inhibit off, the resulting jolt is of such strength that it produces a very long moment of silence among the flight crew while they contemplate the potential repair bill.

2H4
Intentionally Left Blank
 
User avatar
Jetlagged
Posts: 2562
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:00 pm

RE: Any Simulator Technicians?

Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:00 pm

It's hard to actually break anything on a modern sim. Software motion limits keep accelerations to a safe level. Older sims with glass mirrors in the visual system are a little more fragile. Forget seven years bad luck, breaking those is very expensive.  Wink

Turning crash inhibit ON is a dangerous thing to do as the sim could get into an unknown condition after a crash. Unpleasant on motion. On some simulators crash inhibit ON also tones down the motion response for safety. The only proper use for crash inhibit is if the instructor has inserted a gear collapse malfunction and doesn't want the sim to freeze as soon as the aircraft touches down (gear not down and locked crash). On sims where an inflight crash (excessive g, etc) also causes freeze it can be useful to inhibit this on certain training exercises.
The glass isn't half empty, or half full, it's twice as big as it needs to be.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aero79cabin, hyd09l27r and 19 guests