miamix707
Posts: 3848
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:22 pm

CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:08 am

Anyone who uses CAD to make drawings and draw parts in repairs of commercial aircraft and if so, which program specifically?
 
dl757md
Posts: 1482
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 9:32 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:22 am

As an AMT I don't use it but Delta's engineering department uses Autocad for engineering drawings.
757 Most beautiful airliner in the sky!
 
miamix707
Posts: 3848
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:22 pm

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:40 pm



Quoting Dl757md (Reply 1):
As an AMT I don't use it but Delta's engineering department uses Autocad for engineering drawings.

Seems like good 'ol AutoCAD is the standard then. Sorry, but what's AMT stand for?
 
Tod
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:51 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:44 pm



Quoting MIAMIx707 (Thread starter):
Anyone who uses CAD to make drawings and draw parts in repairs of commercial aircraft and if so, which program specifically?

When the repairs/parts are part of an ongoing mod it happens.
We use CATIA (good) and CADRA (sucky).

Tod
 
User avatar
jetmech
Posts: 2316
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:14 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:47 pm



Quoting MIAMIx707 (Reply 2):

Aircraft Maintenance Technician.

Regards, JetMech
JetMech split the back of his pants. He can feel the wind in his hair :shock: .
 
miamix707
Posts: 3848
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:22 pm

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:08 pm



Quoting Tod (Reply 3):
We use CATIA (good) and CADRA (sucky).



oh I thought CATIA was mostly used by Boeing or Airbus when designing the airplane

Quoting JetMech (Reply 4):


Aircraft Maintenance Technician.

 thumbsup 
 
FredT
Posts: 2166
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 9:51 pm

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:16 pm



Quoting MIAMIx707 (Reply 5):

oh I thought CATIA was mostly used by Boeing or Airbus when designing the airplane

Kinda makes sense to use the same CAD tool for initial design, redesigns, repairs, rebuilds and everything else though, doesn't it? FWIW we used CATIA when I was employed by an OEM, and it wasn't Airbus or Boeing...  Smile
I thought I was doing good trying to avoid those airport hotels... and look at me now.
 
roseflyer
Posts: 9606
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 9:34 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:19 pm



Quoting MIAMIx707 (Thread starter):
Anyone who uses CAD to make drawings and draw parts in repairs of commercial aircraft and if so, which program specifically?

I use CATIA, but it's not for repair. It's for initial design.

Quoting MIAMIx707 (Reply 5):


oh I thought CATIA was mostly used by Boeing or Airbus when designing the airplane

Yes CATIA is used by Boeing, but V5 CATIA is also useful for much smaller applications. It's far more powerful than AutoCAD or Solid Edge (which I've used elsewhere), but can be used. In the end, drawings are drawings, and it is not important what their source is if they accomplish their job.
If you have never designed an airplane part before, let the real designers do the work!
 
sunrisevalley
Posts: 4950
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:26 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:15 pm



Quoting RoseFlyer (Reply 7):
In the end, drawings are drawings, and it is not important what their source is if they accomplish their job.

Is there any compatibility between any of these systems? I would have thought that if a part was designed on a particular system and it became necessary to modify it in the field it would be desirable to do it on the system on which it was originally designed.
 
tdscanuck
Posts: 8572
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:25 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:39 am



Quoting SunriseValley (Reply 8):
Is there any compatibility between any of these systems? I would have thought that if a part was designed on a particular system and it became necessary to modify it in the field it would be desirable to do it on the system on which it was originally designed.

Converters exist to go between formats, and there are some "universal" formats, but there are hazards with all of them. All other things being equal, it's nice to work in the original system.

However, it would probably take an act of god to get an OEM to give up the full CATIA model for a part, so I doubt you're going to have the original file to work with anyway.

Tom.
 
miamix707
Posts: 3848
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:22 pm

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:19 am

Which releases of AutoCAD would work with 1GB RAM on my Vista laptop? I used to work with an older version that required little memory.

I will mostly be creating 2d views not 3d


Anyone use Unigraphics? Supposedly also used on the auto/aircraft industry

Quoting SunriseValley (Reply 8):
Is there any compatibility between any of these systems?


Good question, is the output of all these .dwg files?
 
sunrisevalley
Posts: 4950
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:26 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:29 am



Quoting MIAMIx707 (Reply 10):
Which releases of AutoCAD would work with 1GB RAM on my Vista laptop?

I use V14 , my files are pretty small and it works very well with a Celeron processor and a gig of RAM. I found a file on the internet that allows V14 to work under Vista.
 
Tod
Posts: 1709
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:51 am

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:19 pm



Quoting MIAMIx707 (Reply 10):
Good question, is the output of all these .dwg files?

Nope

Alot of conversions require an interium step between using .dxf or .iges

Tod
 
miamix707
Posts: 3848
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:22 pm

RE: CAD Software In Aircraft Repair

Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:30 am



Quoting SunriseValley (Reply 11):
use V14 , my files are pretty small and it works very well with a Celeron processor and a gig of RAM. I found a file on the internet that allows V14 to work under Vista.

You know back then when I saw the R14 had changed the position of the buttons, etc I didn't really like it and kept using 13

Quoting Tod (Reply 12):

Alot of conversions require an interium step between using .dxf or .iges

I had no idea

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], tomtrp727 and 20 guests