FlyMKG
Topic Author

US And Canada Airspace Differences

Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:07 pm

I've got a student that wants to fly from Port Huron, MI directly to Sandusky, OH. I have no experience with flying through Canadian airspace and was wondering if there were any major differences. We will be IFR so I'm talkin cruising altitudes, lost comm procedures, and things like that. Any info would be appreciated.

FlyMKG
Essential Power, Operating Generator.

longhauler

RE: US And Canada Airspace Differences

Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:48 am

Flying IFR, you are unlikely to notice anything different at all, as Canadian ATC is exactly the same as American ATC. You'll go from Cleveland Center to Toronto Center to Cleveland Centre just like you were flying in the States.

On the two examples you mention lost comms and cruising altitudes, there is little difference.

The only slight difference I have noticed between FARs and CARs involves takeoff/landing minima, takeoff alternates and destination alternates, and as you are not actually landing in Canada these will have no bearing on your flight.

For your reference:

http://www.tc.gc.ca/CivilAviation/Regserv/Affairs/cars/menu.htm
Just because I stopped arguing, doesn't mean I think you are right. It just means I gave up!

cactushp

Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:13 am

I actually think the ZOB covers that little part of Ontario. So you'll stick with ZOB the whole way, then off to CLE tracon.
Sorry, I was on the landline

PHLapproach

Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:27 pm

The following message is from one of my friends since he is not a member of airliners.net but would like to respond to your question....:

Quote: