FlyASAGuy2005
Topic Author
Posts: 3965
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:55 am

Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:23 am

I noticed this while working with a regional carrier but never thought about it but gave it even more thought tonight off of my DCI flight from PHF to ATL. Flap configuaration on the ground is always in the 8 (?not sure what degree?) position but in the air, the wing is clean after the take-off setting is retracted.

When we landed in Atlanta, the flaps were brought up and again, stopped in the position before 0.

Why is this?
What gets measured gets done.
 
Sasha
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 3:26 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:31 pm

Have u noticed for the take off if they remained in the same position as before taxiing? Maybe the pilots and engineers around here will confirm that this could be an airline policy on fuel saving or smth?  Smile
An2/24/28,Yak42,Tu154/134,IL18/62/96,B737/757/767,A310/320/319,F100,BAe146,EMB-145,CRJ,A340-600,B747-400,A-330-300,A-340
 
DeltaGuy
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 5:25 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:33 pm

Not sure which DL regional you were on, but (IIRC it was Comair or ASA), keeps the flaps down for inspection during the preflight walkaround.

DeltaGuy
"The cockpit, what is it?" "It's the little room in the front of the plane where the pilot sits, but that's not importan
 
dispatchguy
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 6:08 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:39 pm

There is (well was) an airworthiness directive out on the flaps system that for ground ops, they need to be at flaps 8 - something about the drive system...
Nobody screws you better than an airline job!
 
thegreatchecko
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:34 pm

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 4:18 pm

I'm sure there is a good reason, however, I know I once missed bringing the flaps all the way up after we landed.

No big deal really and it probably allowed for a better inspection during the walk around.
"A pilot's plane she is. She will love you if you deserve it, and try to kill you if you don't...She is the Mighty Q400"
 
pjflysfast
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:50 pm

I think it may have to do with with the motors. The more cycles its just that much more maintenance on the motors and that takes the aircraft down and cost more money.
 
BigSaabowski
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:33 pm

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:41 pm



Quoting Dispatchguy (Reply 3):
There is (well was) an airworthiness directive out on the flaps system that for ground ops, they need to be at flaps 8 - something about the drive system...

You got the gist of it. We put the flaps in the planned takeoff position after a landing. So in Atlanta, you will always see the flaps coming up to 8 after a landing. In CRW, for example, the flaps will always go to 20. This is all because of an AD, having to do with the twisting of the outboard flap, that requires a visual inspection prior to every takeoff.
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2534
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:43 pm



Quoting FlyASAGuy2005 (Thread starter):
Flap configuaration on the ground is always in the 8 (?not sure what degree?) position but in the air, the wing is clean after the take-off setting is retracted.

It looks like they keep them at 20 here in CRW.

Quoting Dispatchguy (Reply 3):
There is (well was) an airworthiness directive out on the flaps system that for ground ops, they need to be at flaps 8 - something about the drive system...

Is it always 8, or is it the setting that will be used for the next takeoff?
 
DeltaGuy
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 5:25 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:48 am



Quoting BigSaabowski (Reply 6):
You got the gist of it.

Dude, I just saw your username....brilliant Big grin

That rug really tied the room together......

DeltaGuy
"The cockpit, what is it?" "It's the little room in the front of the plane where the pilot sits, but that's not importan
 
dispatchguy
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 6:08 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:24 pm



Quoting KcrwFlyer (Reply 7):
Is it always 8, or is it the setting that will be used for the next takeoff?

Next subsequent takeoff; I havent dispatched an RJ in a while, so I was going with rusty brain cells.
Nobody screws you better than an airline job!
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2534
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Sun Oct 19, 2008 2:27 am



Quoting Dispatchguy (Reply 9):
Next subsequent takeoff; I havent dispatched an RJ in a while, so I was going with rusty brain cells.

That explains why I always see them parked here with 20 in. Is there any reason some operators do this while others dont? ASA and Comair always do, but PSA, Pinnacle, and Skywest park clean.
 
AAH732UAL
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:41 pm

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Sun Oct 19, 2008 2:30 am

I think Mesa does this so the pilots won't forget to set them for t/o  Smile
DME/DME RNP0.3 NA -Escalators don't break---- they just become stairs!
 
kstatepilot
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:23 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:05 am



Quoting AAH732UAL (Reply 11):
I think Mesa does this so the pilots won't forget to set them for t/o

Haha, very funny. Actually there is an TSO that you can get that fixes the problem of the flap twisting, costing money, hence we don't but...

Quoting KcrwFlyer (Reply 10):
, but PSA, Pinnacle, and Skywest park clean.

 
FlyASAGuy2005
Topic Author
Posts: 3965
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:55 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Sun Oct 19, 2008 5:40 pm

As soon as you guys mentioned the AD, my mind started buzzing about a thread about problems with the CR2 flap system.

So what is the deal exactly? Has there ever been any modifications?
What gets measured gets done.
 
dispatchguy
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 6:08 am

RE: Flaps Not In Clean Config. On The Ground On RJ

Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:28 am



Quoting FlyASAGuy2005 (Reply 13):
So what is the deal exactly?



Quote:
(d) This AD results from a number of cases of flap system failure that resulted in a twisted outboard flap panel. We are issuing this AD to prevent an unannunciated failure of the flap system, which could result in a flap asymmetry and consequent reduced controllability of the airplane.

This is per FAA AD 2006-12-21, which is available from the FAA website.

It appears that there are acceptable modifications, but if the carrier hasnt yet complied with the modification, then they are subject to the original AD.
Nobody screws you better than an airline job!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Florianopolis, Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests